WICB confirm Zimbabwe and India dates

The West Indies board has confirmed the itineraries for both the Zimbabwe and India tours. Following Zimbabwe's self-imposed withdrawal from Test cricket they will play a seven-match one-day series, while India have agreed to maintain the four-Test program originally outlined.

Discussions took place between the WICB, Zimbabwe Cricket and the BCCI in Dubai, where the chief executives are currently meeting. While the need to change the Zimbabwe tour has been known for some time, the WICB were keen to ensure India played four Tests after recent requests from the BCCI to reduce it to three.

The Zimbabwe series begins with back-to-back matches in Antigua on April 29 and 30 then, following a tour match against a UWI Vice Chancellor's XI, there are back-to-back games in Guyana. A day/night clash in St Lucia follows, before the series concludes with two matches in Trinidad.

Roger Brathwaite, the chief executive, said: "In adjusting the itinerary for the Zimbabwe tour we have attempted to ensure that international cricket is played in Guyana, as they would have been without cricket with the cancellation of the Test scheduled for Guyana."

India will arrive in West Indies on May 12 and play five one-day internationals between May 18 and 28. There has been a minor alteration in the dates to eliminate back-to-back matches, a concession to the Indian board so they would agree to keep four Tests.