Franklin returns for final ODI

James Franklin has been included in the New Zealand squad for the fifth and final one-day international against West Indies on Saturday. Franklin comes into the side for Michael Mason, who hasn't recovered completely from a lower back strain. Daniel Vettori has also been rested for this match, ahead of the first Test starting on March 9.

Franklin and Mason both played the first three matches of the series, but both missed out on the fourth game at Napier, which New Zealand won by 91 runs. Mason has provided the firepower to the attack in the series, taking 6 for 131 from 27 overs. Franklin has been less successful, though, with only two wickets for 107 from 23 overs.

New Zealand have already wrapped up the series with four consecutive wins. The squad for the first Test will be announced on Sunday.

Nathan Astle, Lou Vincent, Stephen Fleming (capt), Peter Fulton, Hamish Marshall, Scott Styris, Ross Taylor, Brendon McCullum (wk), Kyle Mills, Shane Bond, James Franklin, Jeetan Patel.