Nine countries share the Americas awards

The ICC Americas region has announced the regional winners for the ICC Development Program Annual Awards for 2005.
Nine different countries share the awards from the four person panel of judges. The region received a record breaking number of nominations in this the fourth year since the awards were instituted.

Martin Vieira, the ICC Americas regional development manager,congratulated the winners and commented: "The nine winners and other nominees are only a small group of the hundreds we rely on to spread the development of this wonderful sport. With our large geographical area crossing many cultural and language barriers, volunteers are essential to our success in developing cricket in the "new world". To the winners, a well deserved recognition, but to all volunteers I extend our appreciation and gratitude for your efforts".

The Americas regional winners will now compete with the other regions for the Global Awards to be announced on March 30, 2006. The global winners will be selected by a distinguished panel comprising of Ehsan Mani (ICC president), Malcolm Gray (past ICC president), Dr. Ali Bacher (former Development Committee chairman) and Roger Knight (MCC secretary and CEO).

The Regional Winners for the 2005 DPAA

Best Overall Development Program
Bermuda Cricket Program

Best Junior Cricket Initiative
Brazil - School Program In Parana

Best Women's Cricket Initiative
Cuba - Santiago De Cuba Program

Best Cricket Promotional Program
Canada - Celebration Of Cricket

Best Spirit Of Cricket Initiative
Chile - All Chilean Team Tour

Photo Of The Year
Cayman - Keep Your Eye On The Ball

Unaids Award
Argentina - U15 Tour Of South Africa

Volunteer Of The Year
Costa Rica - Richard Illingworth

Lifetime Service Award
Mexico - Brian Gay