Last place in U-19 World Cup up for grabs

The final place in next year's ICC Under-19 World Cup in Sri Lanka is up for grabs over the next 12 days in Nepal. The Asian Cricket Council U-19 Cup starts in Kathmandu on 8 November and the winner of the tournament earns the right to play in February's event in Colombo.

The tournament, hosted by the Cricket Association of Nepal, is scheduled to involve 15 teams divided into four groups, ahead of quarter-finals, semi-finals and a final, the latter match scheduled to take place at the Tribhuvan University Ground on 19 November.

The previous tournament, in Pakistan in 2003, was won by Nepal and they, together with Malaysia, Qatar and Kuwait have been kept apart in the group stages by virtue of being semi-finalists two years ago.

The four groups, determined by a draw made in Kuala Lumpur in October, are as follows:

Group A

Group B
United Arab Emirates

Group C

Group D
Hong Kong
Saudia Arabia

Five teams that did not take part in the 2003 tournament are scheduled to play in Nepal. They are Afghanistan, Bahrain, Brunei, Iran and Saudi Arabia.

The U-19 World Cup takes place in Sri Lanka from February 5 to 19, 2006. The sides already confirmed to take part are the ten Full Members of the ICC plus Ireland, Namibia, Scotland, Uganda and the USA.