England's Ashes hero, Andrew Flintoff, had further cause for celebration today as the ICC short-listed him for the Player of the Year award. Flintoff was among seven cricketers nominated, including three other awards, to be announced in Sydney on October 11.

The award only covers the period between August 1, 2004 and July 31, 2005, meaning Flintoff's Ashes heroics aren't taken into account. The other six nominated for the prestigious award were reigning player of the year Rahul Dravid of India, Australians Ricky Ponting, Adam Gilchrist and Glenn McGrath, Pakistan captain Inzamam-ul Haq and South African all-rounder Jacques Kallis.

The nominations for three other awards were also announced at a media conference by ICC official Jamie Stewart.

There were 15 nominees for the Test Player of the Year, including leg-spin wizard Shane Warne of Australia, prolific batsman Brian Lara of the West Indies and Virender Sehwag of India. There were six nominees for the Emerging Player of the Year: Kevin Pietersen and Ian Bell of England, Gautam Gambhir and Dinesh Karthik of India, Manjural Islam Rana of Bangladesh and A.B. De Villiers of South Africa.


Player of the Year: Rahul Dravid, Andrew Flintoff, Inzamam-ul Haq, Jacques Kallis, Adam Gilchrist, Glenn McGrath, and Ricky Ponting.

Test Player of the Year: Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Adam Gilchrist, Inzamam-ul Haq, Jacques Kallis, Younis Khan, Brian Lara, Damien Martyn, Anil Kumble, Glenn McGrath, Ricky Ponting, Danish Kaneria, Kumar Sangakkara, Virender Sehwag, Harbhajan Singh and Shane Warne.

One-Day International Player of the Year: Rahul Dravid, Andrew Flintoff, Herschelle Gibbs, Adam Gilchrist, Inzamam-ul Haq, Brett Lee, Glenn McGrath, Justin Kemp, Shoaib Malik, Kevin Pietersen, Daniel Vettori, Ricky Ponting, Kumar Sangakkara, Graeme Smith, Andrew Symonds, Marcus Trescothick, Chaminda Vaas and Yousuf Youhana.

Emerging Player of the Year: Kevin Pietersen, Ian Bell, Gautam Gambhir, Dinesh Karthik, Manjural Islam Rana and A.B. De Villiers.