Five Sri Lanka Under-19 cricketers who excelled during the recent tour of Pakistan have been included in a 25-member Sri Lanka A pool named for the upcoming series against West Indies A.

Harshan Vithana, the Sri Lankan Under-19 captain, Upul Tharanga and Chamara Kapugedera, both batsmen, Gihan de Silva, the wicketkeeper, and Chanaka Wijesinghe, the fast bowler, were the five rewarded for their outstanding performances on the tour.

Lalith Kaluperuma, the newly appointed chairman of selectors, said that a few senior cricketers who went on the recent tour to New Zealand - Shantha Kalavitigoda, Farveez Maharoof and Ruchira Perera - were also been included. Kaluperuma added that this squad will be pruned down to about 15 players for the Test and the one-dayers after a three-day practice game scheduled to start on Friday. The squad is also expected to undergo a fitness test under the watchful eyes of Stan Nel, their coach, as some of the players are nursing injuries.

West Indies A who were due on May 20 have requested for a week's postponement. Sri Lanka Cricket is awaiting a reply from them either today or tomorrow. Bandula Warnapura, the director of operations of the Sri Lankan board, said that there won't be a problem making the adjustments to the itinerary. "With the present weather conditions during the Wesak month a postponement of the matches by a week will also help us," he said. "The main objective is to get the maximum playing time."

West Indies A are scheduled to play a series of two unofficial four-day Tests in Colombo and in Kandy and three one-day matches in Dambulla. Two side games also form part of the itinerary.

Sri Lanka A pool
Ian Daniel, Shantha Kalavitigoda, Michael Van Dort, Avishka Gunawardena, Saman Jayantha, Russel ARnold, Jehan Mubarak, Malintha Gajanayake, Upul Tharanga, Chanaka Wijesinghe, Harsha Vithana, Prasanna Jayawardene, Gihan de Silva, Farveez Maharoof, Gayan Wijekoon, Darshana Lokuhettige, Hasantha Fernando, Suraj Mohamed, Malinga Bandara, Sajeewa Weerakoon, Nandika Ranjith, Dilhara Fernando, Ruchira Perera, Priyankara Silva, Chamara Kapugedera.