Tamil Nadu 248 (Badani 69, Yadav 3-27) tied with Uttar Pradesh 248 (Prakash 57, Raina 48)

Tamil Nadu and Uttar Pradesh shared this season's Ranji one-day Trophy after the final at the Wankhede Stadium ended in a dramatic tie. Needing a run off the last ball, with the last pair of Amir Khan and Praveen Gupta at the crease, Khan was run-out at the non-striker's end when Anirudh Srikkanth at mid-off picked up cleanly and threw the ball to Vidyut Sivaramakrishnan at the bowler's end.

Needing 249 for victory, Uttar Pradesh seemed to have lost the game when, in hot and humid conditions, they slumped to 212 for 9. However, Khan and Gupta, the No. 11, took them to the brink of victory. Hemang Badani's tactics of giving the last pair easy singles while looking to prevent boundaries almost proved his side's undoing.

Earlier, R Prakash (57) and Suresh Raina (48) raced off the blocks when UP began the run-chase. Raina scored his runs off just 33 balls, but after his dismissal wickets began to tumble as Tamil Nadu fought back.

For TN, Badani was the top-scorer, making 69 to hold the innings together. At 237 for 5 in the 45th over, they were looking at a much bigger total, but a flurry of wickets towards the end meant that they had to settle for 248. As it turned out, that score ensured that the spectators at Mumbai witnessed a cracking game of cricket.