Stuart MacGill has been rewarded for his role in the New South Wales Pura Cup triumph with the Steve Waugh Medal, honouring the NSW player of the year. MacGill took 54 wickets at 24 apiece in 11 matches, with best figures of 6 for 85.
However, perhaps his most important contribution came with the bat, in the final against Queensland at the Gabba, when he and Nathan Bracken edged NSW to a one-wicket victory, with a last-wicket stand of 22. Earlier in the season he had added 219 for the last-wicket with Dominic Thornley, against Western Australia, a performance that helped to launch their season.

MacGill's form earned him a Test recall against Pakistan at Sydney, and he took eight wickets to secure the man-of-the-match award. But he missed out on the tour of New Zealand, although that disappointment allowed him to be the unlikely batting hero in the Pura Cup final.

MacGill was also named the Pura Cup player of the year for New South Wales, while Julie Hayes won the Belinda Clark medal. Shaun Bradstreet was named the ING player of the year and Stephen O'Keefe and Corinne Hall won the Rising Star awards.