Fleming named as NZ's cricketer of the year

Stephen Fleming has been named as New Zealand's cricketer of the year, after a successful run of form with the bat that has produced 732 runs in nine matches at an average of 56.31.

Fleming's season began with his highest Test score, 274 not out against Sri Lanka in Colombo, and he followed that up with an unbeaten 69 in the second innings. Then, at home to Pakistan, he cracked 192 in the first Test at Hamilton, before leading New Zealand to a maiden Test victory over South Africa.

"He is widely regarded as the premier captain in international cricket," said New Zealand Cricket's chief executive Martin Snedden, as Fleming also picked up the Walter Hadlee Trophy for the best one-day batting, with 728 runs in 21 internationals.

At the awards ceremony, Chris Cairns dropped a broad hint that he might not be retiring from Test cricket just yet, as had been suggested in the media. Cairns said he was thoroughly enjoying playing under New Zealand's new coach John Bracewell, and although he wouldn't actually confirm that he would be continuing for the tour of England, he did say enigmatically: "Maybe I want to carry on."

Graham Dowling, New Zealand's former captain turned match referee, received the Sutcliffe Medal for outstanding service to cricket.

Other awards
Redpath Cup (first-class cricketer) - Scott Styris
Winsor Cup (first-class bowler) - Chris Martin
Walter Hadlee Trophy (ODI bowler) - Daryl Tuffey
State Medal (domestic cricketer) - Chris Harris
Phyl Blackler Cup (women's bowler) - Rebecca Steele
Ruth Martin Cup (women's batter) - Haidee Tiffen
State Plate (women's domestic cricket) - Aimee Mason