Australia's 141 living female cricketers are set to be honoured at a series of recognition functions over the next 18 months, with the first event to be held this Saturday (21 February) at Sydney's Bankstown Oval.

All living Australian representatives - both Test and one-day international players - will be presented with a commemorative lapel pin inscribed with their unique "playing" number.

In addition, all living Test representatives will receive a specially-struck baggy green cap, produced by the Albion Hat and Cap Company, featuring the new Cricket Australia logo. It will be the first time some of the players have received an official baggy green cap.

Since 1874, Australia has been represented by 170 female cricketers. The latest Australian players are New South Wales pair Leonie Coleman (169) and Shannon Cunneen (170), who made their debuts in the current Rose Bowl Series against New Zealand.

Australia's female players receive one playing number - awarded to them when they make their Australian debut, in Test or one-day international cricket.

The functions recognise the players' unique place in Australia's cricket history, and follow in the tradition of last year's Test cap function for Australia's living male Test cricketers.

The first recognition function, which will honour Australian representatives based in New South Wales, coincides with the Commonwealth Bank Southern Stars' one-day international match against New Zealand at Bankstown Oval.

Victoria's Australian representatives will be honoured at the Albert Ground on Wednesday (25 February) when Australia and New Zealand clash in the fifth game of the six-match Rose Bowl Series.

Functions for Western Australia, South Australia and Queensland based Australian representatives are planned in 2004-05 and 2005-06, alongside the playing schedule of the Commonwealth Bank Southern Stars.

The 2004 Rose Bowl Series between Australia and New Zealand continues on Saturday (21 February) at Bankstown Oval with match four of the six-game series. The remaining games will be played at Melbourne's Albert Ground (25 February) and Hobart's Bellerive Oval (27 February).

Australia currently leads the series 3-0, after recording strong wins in the opening three games of the series in New Zealand. All matches begin at 1030 and will be scored live on