Syed Kirmani was elected chairman of the national selection committee at the annual general meeting of the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) at Kolkata.

Kirmani replaces statemate Brijesh Patel, who is currently recuperating from a heart bypass surgery. The other four members of the committee - Kiran More, Kirti Azad, Pranab Roy and Sanjay Jagdale - have been retained in their posts.

"I have always tried to give my best in assignments given to me in the past. I will try to do my best this time too," Kirmani told the Press Trust of India (PTI). Patel had earlier dropped hints that Kirmani might succeed him, and Patel himself is keen to contest for the post of joint secretary of the BCCI.