The Australian Cricket Board (ACB) and the Australian Institute of Sport (AIS) today announced the 2003 scholarship holders for the Commonwealth Bank Cricket Academy (CBCA). The 25 players including Luke Butterworth, Ben Hilfenhaus, Tim Paine and Shane Watson from Tasmania will participate in the academy's residential program for two six-week blocks between May and August.

Twenty-one-year-old Cascade Tasmanian Tigers and Australian all-rounder Shane Watson who was a scholar in 2000, returns to the program to work specifically with Australian bowling great Dennis Lillee as part of his rehabilitation from a back injury that forced him out of Australia's World Cup campaign.

Luke Butterworth (Glenorchy), Ben Hilfenhaus (Ulverstone) and Tim Paine (University) were all rookie-contracted players for the Cascade Tasmanian Tigers in 2002/03. Butterworth has represented Australia at Under 19 level while Hilfenhaus and Paine were both selected in the preliminary squad for the Under 19 Youth World Cup in 2001.

The 25 scholars will live at the AIS training base at Henley Beach in South Australia for two six week blocks in May and August. The players will work with the CBCA coaching staff, led by head coach Bennett King and senior coaches Wayne Phillips, David Moore and John Harmer to refine and develop their skills.

In addition to the residential scholarship holders 30 other young cricketers will attend the academy as camp based scholarship holders. They will travel to Adelaide for a series of camps throughout the year to work on their specialised skill in fast-bowling, batting, spin bowling and wicket-keeping before returning to their respective state squads.

Included in this category are Adam Griffith (fast-bowling), Xavier Doherty (spin-bowling), Sean Clingeleffer (batting) and Shane McDermott (wicket-keeping).