MCG hosts WNCL grand final rematch this week

The Australian Cricket Board (ACB) announced today that, for the first time, the Women's National Cricket League (WNCL) finals series will be played at the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG).

The three-match limited-overs series between Victoria Spirit and the New South Wales Institute of Sport (NSWIS) Blues begins this Friday (17 January), with the second game also being played at the MCG on Saturday (18 January).

The third game (if needed) is scheduled for Bill Lawry Oval in Northcote on Sunday (19 January).

Belinda Clark's Victoria Spirit won the right to host the finals series after finishing on top of the WNCL ladder with 40 points.

The fixture is a re-match of last season's WNCL final series, which the NSWIS Blues won 2-0. That win gave the NSWIS Blues their sixth consecutive WNCL title.

In the most recent encounters between the two states, the NSWIS Blues recorded a five-wicket victory at Hurstville Oval on 7 December 2002, before Victoria Spirit rebounded with a three-run win at the same ground the next day.

All matches commence at 1000 and entry is free.

The teams for the 2002-03 WNCL finals are:

Victoria Spirit's path to the final (won 6, lost 2, bonus points 4, total points 40)

Round 1vWestern Fury at Abbett Park23 Novemberwon by 94 runs24 Novemberwon by eight wickets
Round 2 v NSWIS Blues at Hurstville Oval 7 December lost by five wickets 8 December won by three runs

Round 3 v Southern Scorpions at Punt Road 28 December won by 49 runs 29 December won by 38 runs

Round 4 v Queensland Fire at Geelong 11 January won by eight wickets 12 January won by six wickets

NSWIS Blues' path to the final: (won 6, lost 2, bonus points 0, total points 36)

Round 1vSouthern Scorpions at Adelaide Oval #29 Novemberwon by five wickets10 Novemberlost by 10 runs
Round 2 v Victoria Spirit at Hurstville Oval 7 December won by five wickets 8 December lost by three runs

Round 3 v Queensland Fire at Allan Border Field 21 December won by six wickets 22 December won by 21 runs

Round 4 v Western Fury at Sydney University 11 January won by 24 runs 12 January won by three runs