Redbacks squads announced for first matches of 2002/03

The South Australian Cricket Association (SACA) has named a fourteen-man squad for the first cricket matches of the season to be held at Adelaide Oval.

The squad, for both the first Pura Cup and ING Cup matches, sees newcomers Mark Higgs and John Davison named in the line-up, with Greg Blewett as captain.

Completing the squad are Nathan Adcock, Chris Davies, Shane Deitz, David Fitzgerald, Ryan Harris, Mark Harrity, Ben Johnson, Graham Manou, Michael Miller, Paul Rofe and Michael Smith.

The fourteen-man squad will be narrowed to twelve, subject to match conditions.

SACA's Cricket Operations Manager, Mr Harvey Jolly, said the squad is the strongest in South Australia for some time and is confident the team will open the season on a positive note.

"The State squad has had an excellent pre-season, with many of the players getting in valuable practice during Grade games last weekend. The players are looking fit and sharp, and we are confident of a positive start to the new season."

The first Pura Cup match, against the Victorian Bushrangers, runs from Tuesday, October 15 to October 18, with the ING Cup match, also against the Bushrangers, on Saturday, October 19.

The Pura Cup games starts at 10.30am, with gates opening at 9.30am, tickets are $6 for adults and $2 for children.

The ING Cup match is a day game, with play starting at 9.30am and gates opening at 8.30am. Tickets are $8 for adults and $2 for children.

Tickets can be purchased at the gates.