The following players have been selected in a squad of 13, to represent Western Australia, at the National U/19 Championships in Newcastle, from 3rd to the 14th of December 2001.

The squad was selected by a panel consisting of, Ron Bowe (Chariman), Wayne Hill, Doug Harris and Dean Holder.

WA finished third at last season's Under 19 Championships Carnival in Hobart.

There are eight players in the squad named, who played at last season's Carnival in Hobart: Jim Allenby, Craig Simmons. Shaun Marsh, Beau Casson, Michael Swart, Travis Crook, Robert Slowey, and Aaron Heal.

Team Coach Doug Harris said, "The squad we've selected is quite strong, with eight second year players in it. Also, our Captain Sean Marsh already has the experience under his belt of playing first class cricket for WA. Sean is in his second year as part of the Western Warriors squad, and is in a great position to pass on the benefit of his experiences to the other players in the squad."

"To add to that, Beau Casson and Andrew James are also in the Warriors Squad, as Rookie Contracted Players, and performing very well at the Commonwealth Bank Cricket Academy."