Test trophy to be named after Clive Lloyd

Former West Indies captain, Clive Lloyd, will be honoured by the West Indies and Zimbabwe cricketing authorities with the naming of a trophy after him.

The West Indies Cricket Board (WICB) and the Zimbabwe Cricket Union (ZCU) have agreed that the Clive Lloyd Trophy will become the symbol of Test supremacy between these cricketing nations, starting with the ongoing two-Test series in Zimbabwe. The winner of this and all future Test series between these two teams will receive the Clive Lloyd Trophy.

Lloyd, who is in Zimbabwe attending the second and final Test between the West Indies and Zimbabwe, will present the trophy to the series winners.

New WICB Vice-President Val Banks left the Caribbean yesterday to represent the Board at the unveiling and presentation of the trophy.

"Clive Lloyd was in the vanguard of the greatest era of West Indies cricket and he is one of the most respected names in international cricket. He has given outstanding service to the game and he is truly deserving of this honour," said WICB President, Reverend Wes Hall.

Lloyd, who was the Wisden Cricket of the Year in 1971, led the West Indies from 1974/75 until he retired from Test cricket in 1984/85. He is widely regarded as one of the most successful West Indian captains.

Lloyd's final record as captain was remarkable, including a run of 26 Tests without defeat, and 11 successive wins. He also became the first West Indian to win 100 Test caps.

Jamaican artist Basil Watson has been commissioned to produce the bronze statuette which will depict Lloyd batting.