1st Match, Coca Cola Cup, New Zealand v Sri Lanka, Statistical Highlights

  • It was the 1735th ODI in cricket history.

  • It was New Zealand's 380th and Sri Lanka's 356th match- 48th between these two sides. The record now reads : Sri Lanka 19, New Zealand 26,tied one and abandoned 2.

  • It was the 100th match on Sri Lankan soil. Sri Lanka became country after Australia (386), India (219) ,England (202), United Arab Emirates (174), New Zealand (161), Pakistan (132) and South Africa (105) to host 100 or more ODI matches.

  • Umpires LV Jayasundra and DN Pathirana were officiating in their fifth and 10th match respectively.

  • Sanath Jayasuriya, leading Sri Lanka for the 54th time in his career, completed his 2000 runs as captain. He became second Sri Lankan after Arjuna Ranatunga and 13th captain in ODIs to achieve this landmark. The accompanying table has details :

  • Craig McMillan , on 5,completed his 2000 runs in ODIs. He was playing his 89th match and 83rd innings. He became 12th New Zealander and 94th batsman in all to do so.

  • The wicket of Vincent was 50th for Muttiah Muralitharan on Sri Lankan soil. He became second Sri Lankan after Sanath Jayasuriya (74 wickets in 60 matches) to do so.

  • Adam Parare was scoring a fifty after 61 matches. His last fifty had also come against Sri Lanka (54 at Dhaka on October 26,1998). It was the fourth fifty by a New Zealander wicketkeeper against Sri Lanka. All four have been scored by Parore !

  • During his innings, Parore also completed his 2000 runs in `away' matches for New Zealand. He became fourth New Zealander to do so after Martin Crowe (2820 runs in 86 matches), John Wright (2752 runs in 106 matches) and Stephen Fleming (2344 runs in 90 matches).

  • The two wickets in this match has taken Muralitharan's tally to 32 in the year 2001 which makes him the bowler with most wickets in onedayers along with Pakistan's Waqar Younis (32 in 16) and Australia's Shane Warne (32 in 18). This was Murali's 18th match in year 2001.

  • The defeat was New Zealand's 50th under Stephen Fleming's captaincy. Fleming became first New Zealander and fifth captain in ODIs to achieve this dubious distinction. Others to do so are Sri Lankan Arjuna Ranatunga (95 losses in 193 matches), Indian Mohammad Azharuddin (76 losses in 174 matches),Australian Allan Border (67 losses in 178 matches) and Pakistani Imran Khan (59 losses in 139 matches). However all other four captains had won more matches than the matches they lost.

  • Sanath Jayasuriya was winning his 26th Man of the Match award. With this he equalled West Indian Desmond Haynes' tally of awards. Now only India's Sachin Tendukar (41),West Indian Viv Richards (31), Pakistani Saeed Anwar (27) and former teammate Aravinda de Silva (27) are ahead of Jayasuriya in this form of cricket.