Bangladesh cricketers arrive

Bangladesh cricketers arrive late Tuesday evening on their maiden Test tour of Pakistan and declared that they were here to learn.

"We hope to get as much experience as we can. Almost all the players have previously played in Pakistan so the conditions are not alien to them," skipper Naim-ur-Rehman told reporters at the airport.

Bangladesh have previously participated in Pakistan's national one-day tournament. They take on Pakistan in the Asian Test Championship opener at Multan from Aug 29.

Naim said his boys were under no pressure as these were their learning days. He said although his team has lost all the three Tests but added that they have been of tremendous help to the players who have learned the finer points of the game.

Naim said he was sad that India had withdrawn from the championship, adding that one more match would have provided the boys valuable international exposure and experience.

Bangladesh's Australia coach Trevor Chappell said he was pleased with the progress the team had made progress under him since he took over in March.

Chappell said monsoons in Bangladesh have affected his team's preparations for the championship matches but still maintained his boys were fairly ready for the challenges ahead.

The Australian said Bangladesh would go in the Test with a positive attitude. "Realistically, we are up against two very good sides which is going to be a big, big challenge. All we must do is to enjoy and learn, that's what the target.

"Pakistan is one of the best teams in the world. They get hot and cold at times but they have a strong batting lineup and a formidable pace attack."

Asked what goals he has set for himself after his compatriot Dave Whatmore took Sri Lanka sky-high with his innovations and strategies, Chappell said: "My personal target is that Bangladesh wins a Test match in two to three years time."

Squad: Naim-ur-Rehman (captain), Khaled Masud, Javed Omer Belim, Mehrab Hossain, Mohammad Ashraful, Al Shariar, Aminul Islam, Habibul Bashar, Akram Khan, Enamul Haque, Hasibul Hossain, Monjorul Islam, Bikas Ranjan Das and Mohammad Sharif.

Coach: Trevor Chappell.

Manager: Salim Abidin.