10th Match (Final), Coca Cola Cup, India v Sri Lanka,Statistical Highlights

  • It was the 1744th ODI in cricket history.

  • It was India's 476th and Sri Lanka's 362nd match.

  • It was the 70th match between these two sides. The record now reads : Sri Lanka 29, India 36 and abandoned five.

  • These two teams were meeting for the eighth time in a final of a tournament since Asia Cup in 1988-89. India has won on five occasions while Sri Lanka has won on three.

  • Sanath Jayasuriya became second Sri Lankan and 14th batsman to be left stranded on 99. The only other Sri Lankan to suffer this fate is Romesh Kaluwitharana. This was also the fourth such instance against India. Of the 14 batsmen who have missed their hundred by just one run, five remained unbeaten as either the innings was completed or the target was achieved.

  • Jayasuriya has now aggregated 411 runs in the seven final matches against India - maximum by any batsman against India. He surpassed Pakistan's Saeed Anwar's tally of 319 runs from 6 finals.

  • The third wicket partnership of 104 runs between Jayasuriya and Mahela Jayawerdene was the ninth century partnership against India with Jayasuriya as one of the partners. Jayasuriya has now equalled West Indian Gordon Greenidge's tally of century partnerships against India.Only Desmond Haynes, another West Indian, has featured in more century partnerships against India - 11 to be exact. Jayasuriya went past fellow teammate Marvan Atapattu's record of eight century partnerships for Sri Lanka against India.

  • Ashish Nehra by conceding 65 runs in his nine overs recorded the second most expensive figures by an Indian in a nine over spell in final of a tournament. The worst still remains with Venkatapathy Raju who had returned the figures of 9-0-70-1 against South Africa at Sharjah on April 19,1996. Saurav Ganguly by holding three catches in the field established a new record of most catches by a fielder in a match against Sri Lanka. 16 players (including Ganguly) had taken 2 catches in a match on 25 occasions prior to Ganguly's performance.

  • The wicket of Harbhajan was 250th for Muttiah Muralitharan. He was playing his 174th match. Muralitharan became first Sri Lankan and only the eighth bowler in ODI history to do so.

  • By an odd coincidence Muralitharan has exactly 250 runs to his credit. He thus joined 14 other players who have taken more (or at least same number of ) wickets than their career run-aggregate with a minimum qualification of 50 wickets. The details :

  • India has now lost eight consecutive tournament finals (four under Ganguly's captaincy). India last won a ODI tournament way back in November 1998 when it won the Coca Cola Cup at Sharjah beating Zimbabwe in final.

  • A total of 102 tournaments (involving of three or more teams) have been played so far . On seven occasions the tournament winner was decided on the round robin basis and no final match was played. In remaining 95 tournaments (in which final was played), India has qualified for the final on 33 occasions and ended up as runners-up on 17 occasions. Only Pakistan has lost more tournament finals (considering best of three finals as one single instance) on more occasions - 19 to be precise.

  • Russel Arnold was winning Man of the Match award for the fourth time in his 62nd match.

  • Sanath Jayasuriya was winning Man of the Series award in a tournament for the fifth time in his career. His complete list of other such awards : in World Cup 1995-96, in Singer Cup in 1995-96,in Pepsi Independence Cup in 1996-97,in Coca Cola Champions Trophy in 2000-01....and now.

  • At the end of the tournament : Sri Lanka's overall ODI record : played 362, won 149,lost 197,abandoned 14 and tied 2.

  • India's overall ODI record : played 476,won 217,lost 238,abandoned 18 and tied 3.

  • New Zealand's overall ODI record : played 385,won 155, lost 208,abandoned 18 and tied 4.

  • Sanath Jayasuriya's captaincy record : played 60,won 37,lost 21,abandoned one and tied one.

  • Saurav Ganguly's captaincy record : played 45,won 23,lost 22.

  • Stephen Fleming's captaincy record : played 96,won 36,lost 52,abandoned 7 and tied one.

  • Craig McMillan's capatincy record : played 6,won 2,lost 4.