Australia's best under-19 cricketers face off for the next ten days in the 2000-01 under-19 youth championship in Hobart.

Each state and territory will play three two-day matches, with a semi-final and final to determine overall placings.

Since the competition's inception in 1969, 108 state under-19 players have gone on to play for Australia, including 10 players from the current record-breaking Test team. Brett Lee is the most recent Australian player to participate in the under-19 championship, playing in 1995-96.

Victoria and Queensland shared the title last year and Victoria have won the most championships (twelve), followed by New South Wales (eight), while South Australia and West Australia have won four each.

According to Australian Cricket Board (ACB) Chairman Denis Rogers, the championship is a critical stepping stone in the career path of today's young cricketers.

"The development and promotion of our young talent is a vital aspect of Australia's bid to remain one of the world's leading cricketing nations," Mr Rogers said.

"Since 1969, these championships have provided a competition for Australia's leading talent to develop as cricketers whilst representing their state or territory," he added.

Tasmanian legend David Boon remembers his stint in the under-19 championship as an invaluable experience that paved the way for his international career.

"The under-19 championships were a great thrill. I loved representing my state and competing with the best cricketers of my age in the country," he said.

"It certainly helped me realise I could match it with the best. It was a valuable and rewarding experience."

Boon is available for further comment throughout the carnival via the Tasmanian Cricket Association (TCA) - phone 03 6211 4000.

The championship runs from 4 - 15 December with the final being played at Bellerive Oval on 14 and 15 December. During the championship, scores will be posted on the ACB's official website,

Admission to all matches is free and all matches start at 11am.



Section B: WA ACT NT SA

Round 1 - Monday 4 & Tuesday 5 December 2000

Section A

1 VIC v QLD, University Oval

2 TAS v NSW, TCA Ground

Section B

3 WA v ACT, New Town Oval

4 NT v SA, Lindisfarne Oval

Round 2 - Wednesday 6 & Thursday 7 December 2000

Section A

5 TAS v QLD, Lindisfarne Oval

6 NSW v VIC, Kingston Beach

Section B

7 NT v ACT, Queenborough Oval

8 SA v WA, King George V Oval

Round 3 - Saturday 9 & Sunday 10 December 2000

Section A

9 VIC v TAS, TCA Ground

10 QLD v NSW, King George V Oval

Section B

11 NT v WA, Hutchins School

12 ACT v SA, New Town Oval

Final Standings after Round 3.

Section B winner becomes team 4 and fourth placed team in section A becomes team 5.

SECTION A - 1. 2. 3. 4.

SECTION B - 5. 6. 7. 8.

Tuesday 12 & Wednesday 13 December 2000

Game 1: 1 v 4, TCA Ground

Game 2: 2 v 3, Lindisfarne Oval

Game 3: 5 v 8, Queenborough Oval

Game 4: 6 v 7, King George V Oval

Thursday 14 & Friday 15 December 2000


Winner Game 1 v Winner Game 2, Bellerive Oval

Highest ranked loser of Game1/2 v Lowest ranked Winner of Game 3/4, University Oval

Lowest ranked Loser of game 1/2 v Highest ranked winner Game 3/4, NewTown Oval

Loser Game 3 v Loser Game 4, Kingston Beach Oval


Victoria: Tim Welsford (C), Mark Simpson, Cameron White, Viv Ion, Brett Anderton, Lloyd Mash, Travis Birt, Stuart Brohaska, Peter Dickson, Gavin Kellar, Stephen Ryalls, Ben Waterman, John Seeary, COACH - Neil Buszard.

New South Wales: Aaron O'Brien (C), Ed Cowan, Daniel Smith, Troy Brown, Tim Cruikshank, Steve Karam, Jarrod Burke, Brett Eriksson, Daniel Christian, Jon Shaw, Kym Daley, Denis Lonergan, Matthew Sutherland, COACH - Trevor Bayliss.

Queensland: - Nathan Hauritz (C), Nick Kruger, Aaron Maynard, Craig Phillipson, Chris Simpson, Chris Hartley, Mitchell Chapman, Luke Davis, John Dellit, Scott Brant, Nathan Rimmington, Chris Summers, Chris McCabe, COACH - Mark McLatchey.

Tasmania: - Nathan Webb (C), Brett Geeves, Xavier Doherty, Kade Munday, George Bailey, Jeremy Leatherbarrow, David Tueon, Travis Little, Matthew Sing, Nathan King, Tim Paine, Ben Hilfenhaus, Ben Coombs, COACH - Michael Farrell.

Western Australia: Brett Jones (C), James Allenby, Shaun Marsh, Campbell Robertson, Aaron Andrich, Beau Casson, Travis Crook, Aaron Heal, Steve Mason, Craig Simmonds, Robert Slowey, Michael Swart, Kim Wulff, COACH - Doug Harris.

ACT: Sven Holcombe (C), Stewart Heaney, Peter Colebourne, David Dawson, Adam Heading, Steve DeJong, Andrew James, Dan Pascoe, David Reynolds, Adam Rhynhart, Denver DeCruz, Christopher Mailes, Brentyn Wilson, COACH - Greg Irvine.

NT: Jay Leeder (C), Blayne Cornford, Philip Sutherland, Sam McNally, Adrian Marshall, Martin Brown, Shane Chatto, Michael Keith, Kim Wyles, Mark Patrick, Ken Skewes, Simon Redfern, Leigh Mauger, COACH - Graham House.

South Australia: Jason Borgas (C), Jim Plant, Cameron Borgas, Matthew Burr, Mark Cosgrove, Steven Crook, Callum Ferguson, Daniel Kendrick, Ben Pahl, Tom Plant, Shaun Tait, Matthew Weeks, James Whetstone, COACH - Peter Muggleton.