Mumbai win 41 out of 82 Ranji titles

Shreyas Iyer aggregated the second-highest runs in a Ranji Trophy season ESPNcricinfo Ltd

1321 Runs scored by Shreyas Iyer - second-highest in a Ranji Trophy season. Only VVS Laxman's 1415 runs for Hyderabad in 1999-2000 are higher than Iyer's. In his innings of 117 in the final, he also went past the Mumbai record which was held by Wasim Jaffer (1260 runs in 2008-09). Iyer scored those runs at an average of 73.78 and strike rate of 92.70. He also hit the most sixes in this season - 28.

50 Percentage of the Ranji Trophy titles won by Mumbai - 41 out of 82. The rest of the teams combined have won 50% of the finals. Mumbai have lost only four out of the 45 finals they reached, which is a win percentage of 91.11.

2012-13 Last time the Ranji Trophy final got over inside three days - also between Mumbai and Saurashtra. Mumbai had won that by an innings and 125 runs . Mumbai had made just 355 runs on that occasion, 16 fewer than what they made this time.

24 Wickets by Jaydev Unadkat in the knockout matches, the most by a bowler in the knockout stages of any first-class tournament in India in the last ten years. Before the knockout stages, Unadkat had taken only 16 wickets in eight leagues matches. He ended as Saurashtra's highest wicket-taker with 40 wickets, going past Ravindra Jadeja who took 38 wickets in just four matches. Unadkat's 40 wickets are also the second-best for a Saurashtra bowler in a Ranji season. Unadkat also completed 150 wickets in his first-class career.

3 Ranji Trophy finals that have ended with an innings margin, in the last four seasons. Apart from the two finals between Mumbai and Saurashtra (2012-13 and 2015-16), Karnataka had defeated Tamil Nadu by an innings and 217 runs in the last final, at Wankhede Stadium. Overall, this was Mumbai's tenth innings win in a Ranji Trophy final. Incidentally, no other team has won ten Ranji Trophy finals. The table below lists the ten finals won by innings margin by Mumbai.

442 Difference between the top-two run-scorers - Iyer 1321 and Akhil Herwadkar 879 - the highest in any Ranji Trophy season. The previous highest difference was 401, way back in 1944-45, between Rusi Modi's 1008 runs and Vijay Merchant's 607. Iyer scored 1.502 times the second-highest run-scorer, the highest since 1972-73 when Chetan Chauhan (873) had scored 1.507 times compared to Sunil Gavaskar's 579.

4 Man-of-the-Match awards for Iyer - most for any player this season. Jadeja (Saurashtra), Rajat Paliwal (Services), Rohan Prem (Kerala) and Herwadkar (Mumbai) got three awards each. Jadeja bagged three awards in just four matches.

11 Scores of 50 or more for Iyer - joint-most by a batsman in a Ranji Trophy season. Vijay Bharadwaj (Karnataka) in 1998-99 and Abhishek Nayar (Mumbai) in 2012-13 also made 11 such scores. Bharadwaj hit four centuries and seven half-centuries, as Iyer did this season. Nayar had three centuries and eight fifties.

4 Centuries for Iyer - joint-highest this season. Sudip Chatterjee (Bengal) and Paliwal also struck four centuries each.

0 Century partnerships for the tenth wicket for Mumbai in first-class matches, before Siddesh Lad and Balwinder Sandhu added 103 in the final. Their highest was an unbeaten 87-run stand between Ashok Mankad and Sushil Singhvi against Gujarat in 1967-68. There have been three such century stands against Mumbai, though, and the highest stand for the tenth wicket in first-class matches in India was also against Mumbai: 233 by Ajay Sharma and Maninder Singh for Delhi in 1991-92 Ranji semi-finals.

48 Dismissals by Aditya Tare - most by a wicketkeeper in a Ranji season. He went past Srikar Bharat who recorded 46 dismissals for Andhra last season. Tare took seven catches in the final to go past that mark. This season, he took 44 catches and affected three stumpings. Tare kept in 18 innings compared to Bharat's 15.

2010-11 Last time a player made his first-class debut in a Ranji Trophy final, before Prerak Mankad for Saurashtra this season. In 2010-11, Abhijit Karambelkar made his debut for Baroda against Rajasthan. Mankad also made a half-century in his debut innings. The last player to make his first-class debut in any kind of final and score 50 or more was Kirk Edwards for Barbados against Trinidad & Tobago in Carib Beer Challenge final of 2006.