Young paceman Wes Agar has returned to South Australia after spending two seasons in Victoria as one of the few changes to the Redbacks squad for next season.

Agar, 22, the younger brother of Ashton Agar, had a rookie contract with the Redbacks in 2016-17 and played five List A games before returning to Victoria. He earned a rookie contract with Victoria in 2018-19 and played two JLT Cup games last season but has yet to play any first-class cricket.

He re-joins South Australia where he already plays BBL cricket with Adelaide Strikers.

The Redbacks scarcely made a change to their contract list despite not winning a single Sheffield Shield game last season and just two JLT Cup matches.

"We have faith in our experienced players but we need more consistency from this group and we also need the young players in our system to keep growing and developing if we are to build success at domestic level," South Australia high performance manager Tim Nielsen said.

Top order batsman Kelvin Smith and fast bowler Elliot Opie were cut from the main squad along with rookie Michael Cormack.

The Redbacks signed three new rookies, Jacob Dickman, Henry Hunt and Tim Oakley. Dickman has been rewarded for performances in SACA premier cricket while Hunt hails from Canberra and was the leading run-scorer in the Futures League last year. Oakley was the leading wicket taker in SACA premier cricket last season.

South Australia Men's 2019-20 squad Alex Carey, Travis Head, Adam Zampa, Wes Agar, Tom Andrews, Tom Cooper, John Dalton, Callum Ferguson, David Grant, Jake Lehmann, Conor McInerney, Joe Mennie, Harry Nielsen, Patrick Page Jnr, Kane Richardson, Luke Robins, Alex Ross, Chadd Sayers, Cameron Valente, Jake Weatherald, Nick Winter, Daniel Worrall Rookies Jacob Dickman, Henry Hunt, Spencer Johnson, Tim Oakley, Lloyd Pope, Ben Pengelley