Australia's resurrection from 122 for 8 to a 251-run victory

Nathan Lyon wheels away in celebration Getty Images

1981 The last time a team won an Ashes Test after being eight down for fewer than 150 in the first innings of the match. That was when England won at Old Trafford in 1981 by 103 runs after being 137 for 8 in the first innings. Australia were 122 for 8 in this Test.

2 Instances of teams winning a Test by a higher margin than Australia's 251 runs after being eight down for fewer than 150 in the first innings. The highest victory margin in terms of runs from such a situation is West Indies' 343-run victory against Australia in Bridgetown in 1991 after getting all out for 149 in the first innings.

8 Number of consecutive Tests without a defeat for England at Edgbaston before this. Their last loss had come against South Africa in 2008. The last time Australia won at the venue was in 2001.

6-49 Nathan Lyon's figures in the fourth innings - the second-best by an Australia bowler in the Ashes in England in the fourth innings. Only Bill O'Reilly's 7 for 54 at Trent Bridge in 1934 were better. This was the eighth six-wicket haul for Lyon but his first against a team other than India or Bangladesh. He also completed 350 wickets in his Test career.

21 Tests taken by Pat Cummins to complete 100 wickets. Only one Australia fast bowler had taken fewer matches to get to the milestone than Cummins - Charlie Turner in 17 matches. Cummins took the same number of matches as Joel Garner, Colin Croft, Ian Bishop, Anil Kumble and Stuart MacGill took to complete 100 Test wickets.

2010 The last time Australia won a Test after losing eight wickets for fewer than 150 runs in the first innings of a Test, against Pakistan at SCG. Australia were all out for 127 in the first innings. The last time England lost a Test from such a situation was against Pakistan at Dubai in 2012.

10 Rory Burns became the tenth player in Test history to bat on each of the five days of a Test. The only other batsman to had done that in Ashes was Geoff Boycott at Trent Bridge in 1977. Allan Lamb and Andrew Flintoff are the other England batsmen to have this distinction.

8 Number of DRS decisions that were overturned against Joel Wilson in this Test. Teams challenged his decisions 15 times overall. For Aleem Dar, it was two overturned and three struck down.