Mitchell Johnson and Kumar Sangakkara are in contention to win the ICC's Cricketer of the Year award for a second time after the 2014 shortlists were announced. Johnson's fiery resurgence helped Australia to an Ashes whitewash and victory in South Africa, while Sangakkara's run-scoring feats included becoming only the second man to hit a triple-hundred and a hundred in a Test match.

Sri Lanka's Test and ODI captain, Angelo Mathews, is also nominated. He was the second-leading Test run-scorer in the period from August 26, 2013 to September 17, 2014, behind Sangakkara; both were involved in Sri Lanka's World T20 win. AB de Villiers is the other candidate for the Sir Garfield Sobers trophy, an award that has only been won twice by one player previously: Ricky Ponting in 2006 and 2007.

Johnson, Sangakkara and Mathews are included in the Test Player of the Year category as well, along with David Warner. De Villiers is joined by two of his South Africa team-mates, Quinton de Kock and Dale Steyn, in contesting the ODI award, with Virat Kohli making up the nominees.

Charlotte Edwards and Stafanie Taylor, former winners of the the Women's Cricketer of the Year award, are nominated alongside India captain Mithali Raj, whose side achieved an historic Test victory over England in 2014, and Sarah Taylor. There will be a new winner of the Women's T20 award, after Taylor did not make the shortlist, with Australia's World T20-winning captain, Meg Lanning, facing competition from Edwards, Raj and Taylor.

Despite a difficult 12 months, England have two contenders in the Emerging Cricket of the Year category, as do New Zealand. Only players under the age of 26 who had appeared in fewer than five Tests and/or 10 ODIs at the start of the voting period were eligible for the award.

The shortlists were voted on by an academy of "32 highly credentialed cricket personalities", which included former players, members of the media and match officials. Longlists for each award were initially drawn up by a five-man selection panel chaired by former India captain Anil Kumble, and comprising broadcaster Jonathan Agnew, former Sri Lanka international Russel Arnold, former New Zealand captain Stephen Fleming and Betty Timmer, one-time chair of the ICC Women's Committee.

The ICC has also announced its Test and ODI Teams of the Year. "Team selection is one of the toughest jobs and when you have a large pool of outstanding players to select from in a 12-month period between 26 August 2013 and 17 September 2014, then it becomes even more difficult," Kumble said.

"However, we think we have selected the best possible sides, which are well balanced and capable of beating any side on any given day in any given conditions. While selecting these squads, the selectors discussed various combinations and took into account several scenarios like opposition, pitch conditions and match situations."

Winners of the individual awards will be announced on November 14.

Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for ICC Cricketer of the Year
AB de Villiers, Mitchell Johnson, Angelo Mathews, Kumar Sangakkara

ICC Test Cricketer of the Year
Mitchell Johnson, Angelo Mathews, Kumar Sangakkara, David Warner

ICC ODI Cricketer of the Year
Quinton de Kock, AB de Villiers, Virat Kohli, Dale Steyn

ICC Women's ODI Cricketer of the Year
Charlotte Edwards, Mithali Raj, Sarah Taylor, Stafanie Taylor

ICC Emerging Cricketer of the Year
Corey Anderson, Gary Ballance, Jimmy Neesham, Ben Stokes

ICC Associate and Affiliate Cricketer of the Year
Calum MacLeod, Preston Mommsen, Mohammad Nabi, Samiullah Shenwari

ICC Twenty20 International Performance of the Year
Alex Hales - 116 not out v Sri Lanka, March 27, 2014
Aaron Finch -156 v England, August 29, 2013
Rangana Herath - 3.3-2-3-5 v New Zealand, March 31, 2014

ICC Women's T20I Cricketer of the Year
Charlotte Edwards, Meg Lanning, Mithali Raj, Stafanie Taylor

David Shepherd Trophy for ICC Umpire of the Year
All 12 members of the ICC's Elite Panel have been nominated