India v Pakistan, Asia Cup, Mirpur February 28, 2016

Kohli fined for dissent after dismissal

ESPNcricinfo staff
184

Virat Kohli reacted after being given out lbw despite getting an inside edge © AFP

India batsman Virat Kohli has been fined 30% of his match fee for violating the ICC Code of Conduct by showing dissent after he was given out in the Asia Cup game against Pakistan in Mirpur. Kohli admitted to the offence and accepted the penalty imposed by match referee Jeff Crowe.

"The incident happened in the 15th over of India's innings when Kohli, after being given out leg before, displayed dissent by first showing his bat and then leaving the crease while looking back at the umpire and uttering some words that were contrary to the spirit of the game," the ICC said in a release.

Replays of the delivery showed that Kohli had inside edged the Mohammad Sami delivery on to his pad but was given lbw by the on-field umpire Ruchira Palliyaguruge.

He was on 49 at the time, having rescued India from 8 for 3 in a chase of 84. India were eight runs from victory when Kohli fell and they eventually passed the target with five wickets in hand and 27 balls to spare.

Comments have now been closed for this article

  • NareshPodi on April 14, 2016, 7:55 GMT

    I never see that he shown dissent.. But what about the fine for the mistakes which ampires made??

  • alischeme on March 2, 2016, 22:26 GMT

    I don't think he showed dissent tbh. All I saw was him smiling.

  •   Poudandane Outchadevin on March 2, 2016, 12:40 GMT

    I think it is always better to have DRS method in all matches. But some senior players are not ok with that.

  • __PK on March 1, 2016, 21:11 GMT

    Class act, Kohli. India will only gather more respect from having chosen him as their leader. I can't wait to see how the next generation behave.

  • Nampally on March 1, 2016, 20:17 GMT

    @LEGGIE: When you snick a 150 KPH fast bowler, it is heard loud & clear right in the pavilion, 90 meters away. Kohli had inside edged the ball on to his pad! If the Umpire's hearing & eyesight are "normal", it is impossible to call it a "genuine" Mistake just 20 metres away from the bat! Either the umpire's concentration was not in the game or he is grossly incompetent. There is no other explanation. It appears the Cricket rules were made with the assumption of having Umpires as infallible as one armed Umpire Chester! If a batsman had showed dissent on Chester's decision, it would have been fine to penalize the batsman not on such a rank bad decision. For such incompetent umpiring, this "professional" umpire deserved a severe penalty NOT the batsman Kohli!. Bringing Hazzlewood & Broad into this is totally irrelevant.

  • Vic010 on March 1, 2016, 18:36 GMT

    Accept the decision by the umpire. that's all there is to it!!

  • Cricinfouser on March 1, 2016, 11:30 GMT

    Do not ask DRS in a T20 match..use brains!

  •   Srikanth Veeraraghavan on March 1, 2016, 10:58 GMT

    Fine the umpire, then Kohli. Umpire made the mistake first.

  • Mohit Mirani on March 1, 2016, 9:21 GMT

    DRS should be considered in case of any ambiguity. Kohli getting fined is a different issue as that is not in the spirit of the game. As per rules if the decision is given as out the batsmen has to go, during that any such behavior by any player is offensive. In-spite of knowing that the decision is wrong, it can be only corrected if technologies like DRS are used in the game. Improving the umpiring may or may not help as it depends on that individual umpire who is facing such situation. Asia Cup umpires have not wowed us much with the decision making overall. ICC needs to select the umpires as per standards. There was an another decision going wrong when one of the Pak batsman was trying to flick the ball on the leg side and got an edge which was taken by Dhoni but was not given out. Same applies to the first ball thrown by Afridi.

    Decision making needs to be improved using the prevailing technologies. Otherwise players might get disheartened which could affect the game.

  • ModernUmpiresPlz on March 1, 2016, 9:15 GMT

    @Matthew Brookes Might like to add that Hazelwood didn't "get aggressive" or "swear at the umpire" as many people are claiming (who obviously weren't watching). He swore, yes, and got caught on the stump mic. Using a swear word does not equal swearing at someone though. The sensitivity levels here are through the roof, do you seriously think Kohli didn't swear at all in his advice to the umpires/other players at any point during this match? That if the stump mic was on you would only hear polite language from him? Not to mention people saying Smith brought the game into disrepute by talking to the umpire after the decision. He's actually allowed to ask the umpire certain things. We've seen it done a million times. Think McCullum pestering the umpire after Mitch Marsh was given not out after hitting the ball into his shoe. He obviously said something that was considered dissent and was fined (and I have no problem with that), but talking to the umpire in and of itself is NOT dissent.

  • No featured comments at the moment.