India in Australia 2011-12 January 15, 2012

Tendulkar back in ODI squad

ESPNcricinfo staff

Sachin Tendulkar has been picked in India's limited-overs squad for the first time since the World Cup. He will stay on after the Test series in Australia for the one-day tri-series that also features Sri Lanka. Praveen Kumar, the India medium-pacer who missed the Tests due to a fractured rib, is also a part of the 17-man limited-overs squad. India will play two Twenty20 internationals in Australia followed by the ODI tri-series, which will be played from February 5 to March 8.

The rest of the limited-overs squad is similar to the one that was picked for the fourth and fifth ODIs against West Indies at home in December last year. Irfan Pathan, who played his first international for India in more than two years during that series, has retained his place in the squad. Zaheer Khan, who like Tendulkar has not played an ODI since the World Cup final, will also stay on for the limited-over games. Umesh Yadav and R Vinay Kumar make up the rest of the fast-bowling department.

Rahul Sharma, the legspinner who impressed during the series against West Indies, has been selected as the second spinner alongside R Ashwin. Manoj Tiwary scored his maiden ODI hundred in the fifth ODI against West Indies and is part of the squad again, which means there is no place for Ajinkya Rahane, who was part of the Test squad. Parthiv Patel has been picked as the reserve wicketkeeper despite his poor run with the bat in recent ODIs. Ravindra Jadeja, who has occupied the allrounder's spot in the limited-overs side since the one-day leg of the tour of England, has also been selected.

Yuvraj Singh's time away from cricket continues as he has not yet fully recovered from the non-malignant lung tumour that has kept him out of the team since the home ODIs against West Indies.

Squad: MS Dhoni (capt & wk), Virender Sehwag, Gautam Gambhir, Sachin Tendulkar, Suresh Raina, Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, Ravindra Jadeja, Manoj Tiwary, Parthiv Patel (wk), Zaheer Khan, Umesh Yadav, Irfan Pathan, R Vinay Kumar, Praveen Kumar, Rahul Sharma, R Ashwin