Australia v India, 2nd T20I, Melbourne January 29, 2016

Dhoni makes world record 140 stumpings

Stats highlights from the second T20I between Australia and India at the MCG

Virat Kohli averages more than 50 in T20Is after unbeaten scores of 90 and 59 in the first two games of the series © AFP

1 Wins for India in their previous six T20Is before their consecutive wins in this series. They had lost two games to South Africa and one each to Zimbabwe, England and Sri Lanka. They had seven consecutive wins, including five during the World T20 2014, before that period.

0 Instances of India batsmen scoring more than one fifty-plus score in a bilateral T20I series. With unbeaten scores of 90 and 59, Virat Kohli has become the first to do so for India. Kohli's 149 runs in this series are already the most runs by an India batsman in a bilateral series and also the most by any batsman in a T20I bilateral series against Australia.

50.65 Kohli's batting average in T20Is, the highest for any batsman with at least 500 T20I runs. Australia's T20I captain, Aaron Finch is a distant second with an average of 41.61 and is the only other batsman to average 40-plus.

140 Number of stumpings effected by MS Dhoni in international matches, the most by any player. He went past Kumar Sangakkara's 139 stumpings with two such dismissals in this match. This was also the first time Dhoni had stumped two batsmen in a T20I innings. For India, Dinesh Karthik is the only one to have done this before Dhoni: against South Africa in Durban in the 2007 World T20. Dhoni has 38 stumpings in Tests, 89 in ODIs and 13 in T20Is.

2013 Last time Australia lost a bilateral T20I series involving two or more matches: to Sri Lanka by a 2-0 margin in 2012-13. Since thenand before the current series, they had played four series, won three and one was drawn. The only bilateral T20I series between India and Australia before this was drawn 1-1 in 2011-12.

97 Runs added for the first wicket by the stand between Rohit Sharma and Shikhar Dhawan - India's second-highest opening stand in T20Is. There has been only one century partnership for the first wicket for India in T20Is: 136 between Virender Sehwag and Gautam Gambhir against England in Durban in the 2007 World T20. Against Australia, only twice has an opposition's first wicket added more runs. The Indian openers also made the highest opening stand in T20Is at the MCG by eclipsing the 60-run stand by England's Ian Bell and Steven Davies in 2010-11.

2 Instances when there have been two opening stands of 75 or more in a T20I. The first such instances was between New Zealand and Zimbabwe in Hamilton in 2011-12 when Stuart Matsikenyeri and Hamilton Masakadza put on 76 for Zimbabwe and Rob Nicol and James Franklin added 103 for New Zealand. Overall, this is the 12th instance of both teams having fifty-plus run partnerships for the first wicket in a T20I.

68 Balls used by India to reach the 100-run mark, the second-least by any team against Australia in Australia. The quickest was 67 balls by West Indies in Brisbane in 2012-13.

182 The previous highest total in T20Is at the MCG, by the hosts against South Africa in 2008-09. There has been only one other total in excess of 150 at the MCG before India's 3 for 184 in this match - 161 for 4 by Sri Lanka against Australia in 2012-13.

74 Runs by Aaron Finch, the highest individual score against India while chasing in T20Is. The previous highest was 73 by Jacques Kallis in Gros Islet in the 2010 World T20. Incidentally, both these scores have come in a losing cause. For Australia, there has been only one score higher than Finch's in chases - 90 by Steven Smith against England in Cardiff in 2015. Glenn Maxwell also made 74 against Pakistan in Dhaka in the 2014 World T20. All these top scores have come in lost causes for Australia.

2 Number of times a team's first three batsmen have all scored 40 or more in a T20I innings. In this match, Rohit made 60, Dhawan 42, and Kohli 59 not out for India. The first such occasion was by New Zealand's top three against England in Hamilton in 2012-13.

Bharath Seervi is stats sub-editor at ESPNcricinfo. @SeerviBharath