Sri Lanka tour of Australia, 2010 October 2, 2010

Muralitharan included in Sri Lanka squad for Australia


Muttiah Muralitharan has been included in the squad for the limited-overs tour of Australia in November as Sri Lanka build their team for the 2011 World Cup. Aravinda de Silva, Sri Lanka's chairman of selectors, said Murali remained an important part of the one-day set up, though he had retired from Tests and didn't play the recent tri-series in Sri Lanka which also involved India and New Zealand.

"Muralitharan is definitely part of our World Cup plans and we have included him to give him some international exposure ahead of the big event," de Silva said. Murali had retired from Tests during the home series against India in July but said he would be available for the World Cup if selected. He recently played an important role in Chennai Super Kings' victory in the Champions League Twenty20 in South Africa.

Suraj Randiv, another offspinner, was also picked in the 16-man squad but de Silva said only one spinner was likely to play on Australian pitches. "Jeevan Mendis, who bowls legspin, and Tillakaratne Dilshan's offspin can also be utilised," he said.

The squad has five seamers - Lasith Malinga, Dilhara Fernando, Nuwan Kulasekara, Dammika Prasad and Thisara Perera - to suit Australian conditions. Allrounder Angelo Mathews' selection is subject to fitness as he recovers from an injured left knee and Thilina Kandamby has been put on standby.

Sri Lanka will play three one-day warm-up matches against Queensland and New South Wales before facing Australia in a Twenty20 international and three ODIs.

Squad: Kumar Sangakkara (capt & wk), Mahela Jayawardene (vc), Tillakaratne Dilshan, Upul Tharanga, Chamara Silva, Jeevan Mendis, Angelo Mathews (subject to fitness, Thilina Kandamby on standby), Chamara Kapugedara, Thisara Perera, Lasith Malinga, Nuwan Kulasekera, Dilhara Fernando, Muttiah Muralitharan, Suraj Randiv, Dammika Prasad, Dinesh Chandimal.

Comments have now been closed for this article

  • Dummy4 on October 9, 2010, 20:54 GMT

    WHY is dilhara fernando in the team

  • Kirindage on October 8, 2010, 20:42 GMT

    Team is fairly good.But there should be a match winning bowler.I think we only have one match winning bowler right now.That is Udana,and he is not in the team.He has the best stuff as the fast bowler and could get Ausee's out.Most other fast bowlers going to give them batting practice.We got to have him to have a chance.

  • sabanathan on October 7, 2010, 10:27 GMT

    Selction Ok But Why They Selecting Dilhara Fernando,They Can Select Chaminda Vass Or Other Fast Bowler


  • Kasun on October 7, 2010, 5:40 GMT

    Good thinking of add Dinesh Chandimal, He should play 4 the WC 2011.And not include the Sana.Good decision from the selectors.

  • Kovilan on October 6, 2010, 9:30 GMT

    I agree with Suranga Silva that Jayasuriya is well past his best and Sri Lanka cannot include him in the side.I started watching cricket because of the exciting players like Jaya, Da Silva, Murali that Sri Lanka always manage to find and i feel that Jayasuriya is the best batsman of all time as well as a great bowler but i have accepted his time has been long over so its time for fans to accept this as well.If Sri Lanka wants to win the world cup, there are many emerging players like Chandimal than can help achieve this.Good luck Sri Lanka, Kovilan Moodley-South Africa

  • Chatura on October 6, 2010, 7:46 GMT

    I can't believe that they have not picked Rangana Herath, who I think is the best spinner in the current contest(SL). He has improved quite a lot with his variation and pace but selectors are very reluctant to give him fare share of chance. He only failed one match during the last tour (India) and he was axed. At least I'm happy that they've picked Chandimal!

  • Dummy4 on October 5, 2010, 15:15 GMT

    I think Aravinda wants to hide Ajantha against the aussies

  • Dummy4 on October 5, 2010, 15:03 GMT

    wise decision....murali s a ledgend and we still need him

  • Dummy4 on October 5, 2010, 14:36 GMT

    Here few guys are crying about not naming Sanath , I am not sure whether they are SL supporters oh whether they have bet on Sl losing world cup , Grow up guys Sanath has lost his spark, no longer he is the Sanath of the past if he was picked for team then it is clear Sl is playing the game with 10 players . feel pity for the guy , but pity is not going to win us the WC

  • Dummy4 on October 4, 2010, 23:02 GMT

    @stich 50 means not only diving fielding..for an example a runout of shewag in the's worth more than's good quick thinking

  • No featured comments at the moment.