Twenty20 Big Bash 2009-10 January 6, 2010

Tim Paine to captain Tasmania for Twenty20

Cricinfo staff

Tim Paine will lead Tasmania for the first time after the captain George Bailey was ruled out of Friday's Twenty20 game against Queensland with an elbow problem. Bailey has an infection in his elbow caused by an abrasion and has been left out, with Michael Dighton and the uncapped batsman John Rogers added to a 13-man squad.

Queensland have included the batsman Chris Lynn, 19, in their 13-man group following a strong year in which he was a prolific scorer in the national youth titles and the Futures League Twenty20 tournament. Lynn has replaced Alister McDermott, who is unavailable for the rest of the Big Bash having been named in Australia's Under-19 World Cup squad.

Queensland have lost both their matches so far in the tournament and need a win to lift themselves off the bottom of the table. Tasmania have won one match and lost one.

Queensland squad James Hopes, Ben Dunk (wk), Lee Carseldine, Andrew Symonds, Glen Batticciotto, Chris Lynn, Craig Philipson, Nathan Reardon, Chris Simpson (capt), Ryan Harris, Ben Cutting, Ben Laughlin, Nathan Rimmington.

Tasmania squad Tim Paine (capt, wk), Michael Dighton, Rhett Lockyear, Travis Birt, Alex Doolan, John Rogers, Naved-ul-Hasan, Brett Geeves, James Faulkner, Jason Krejza, Xavier Doherty, Brendan Drew, Gerard Denton.