Australian news April 10, 2010

Doherty earns top Tasmanian prize

Cricinfo staff

Xavier Doherty, the left-arm spinner, was voted Tasmania's best player as he picked up the Ricky Ponting Medal in Hobart. Doherty finished on top in a tight tussle and was also rewarded with the Jack Simmons Medal as the team's most valuable man in the FR Cup.

He led the one-day competition wicket-list with 20 in 11 matches and was a key reason for the trophy win. Twelve Sheffield Shield victims in three games also boosted his tally as he finished ahead of the captain George Bailey in both categories.

The opener Ed Cown was the Shield Player of the Year in his first season with the Tigers while Rana Naved-ul-Hasan, who is currently appealing his ban by Pakistan, was the outstanding performer in the Twenty20 competition. Brady Jones gained the Scott Mason Memorial Captain's Award, Tim Paine accepted the Cricket Tasmania Chairman's Award and Erin Burns was the Roar Player of the Year after their first season in the Women's National Cricket League.