Aus v India, Tri-nation U-19 tournament final, Darwin July 12, 2013

India thrash Australia to take Under-19 title

ESPNcricinfo staff

India Under-19 76 for 2 (Bains 40*) beat Australia Under-19 75 (Hooda 3-22) by eight wickets

India Under-19 crowned their unbeaten run in the Top End Series in Darwin by drubbing Australia Under-19 by eight wickets in the final that lasted just over 40 overs in total. A combined bowling performance, led by Deepak Hooda, sent the hosts capitulating to 75 in just under 25 overs, before India chased it down with ease.

That the Australia openers added 36, before losing all ten wickets for the addition of just 39 runs, only highlighted the batting meltdown. The openers Matthew Short and Damien Mortimer started positively, scoring at five an over before the left-arm seamer Chama Milind took the first wicket, getting Short caught by Hooda low at short midwicket. Milind struck again in his following over, when Ben McDermott flicked one straight to square leg. Hooda took the first of his three wickets when Mortimer spooned one to the captain Vijay Zol at mid-on.

Hooda struck again four overs later, getting Jake Doran to edge to slip, leaving Australia at 4 for 58. Another wicket went down the following over when Sean Willis punched one straight to short cover. A brilliant catch at leg slip by Sarfaraz Khan gave Hooda his third wicket. India polished off the tail even before Australia could bat out half their overs. All five bowlers contributed, with Hooda the only bowler to bowl his full quota, finishing with 3 for 22.

India lost an early wicket when Akhil Herwadkar was caught at fine leg in the second over. Zol scored 9 before he was caught at mid-on but Australia had nothing to celebrate after his dismissal as Ankush Bains and Sanju Samson guided India to the target with 207 balls to spare.