Australia A v India A, 2nd unofficial Test, Brisbane, 1st day July 13, 2014

India A hit back after Faulkner-Forrest stand

ESPNcricinfo staff

Play 01:51
'Will try to create a platform for our bowlers' - Faulkner

Australia A 7 for 288 (Faulkner 94, Forrest 77, Mishra 4-114, Yadav 3-42) v India A

Fifties from James Faulkner and Peter Forrest helped Australia A put up 7 for 288 on the opening day of the second four-day game against India A in Brisbane. The pair put on 133 runs for the fourth wicket but on either side of the partnership, Australia A lost wickets in clusters to Umesh Yadav and Amit Mishra.

Mishra, who replaced Pragyan Ojha, was the most successful bowler with four wickets, but he was also the most expensive. Three of his wickets came towards the end of the day. He dismissed Faulkner six runs short of a maiden first-class century after the batsman had hit him for four sixes in the 71st over. In his next four overs, Mishra removed the two batsmen who had rescued Australia A in the first four-day game - Mitchell Marsh was caught at slip for 14 trying to slash, while Sam Whiteman was bowled for 12.

Apart from the knocks by Forrest and Faulkner, the other Australia A batsmen had little to show for, as they failed to build on starts. Australia A won the toss and batted first, but their opening stand was broken in the eighth over when Phillip Hughes was caught behind off Yadav. The fast bowler then accounted for Alex Doolan, who made a 64-ball 18. Chris Lynn's wicket in the last over before lunch left Australia A on a shaky 3 for 64 but Faulkner and Forrest steadied the innings in the second session and gradually accumulated runs. Faulkner was the first to switch gears, getting to an 80-ball 50 with nine fours, while Forrest reached his fifty a few overs later.

Faulkner pushed the scoring-rate after Forrest fell and attacked Mishra. The fifth-wicket partnership between Faulkner and Marsh yielded 51 of which Marsh contributed just 12. Mishra's late strikes, however, left the onus of a fightback on Australia A's lower order, comprising Ben Cutting, Cameron Boyce, Nathan Lyon and Chadd Sayers. Lyon, who had joined the Australia A squad earlier this week, replaced Moises Henriques in the XI.

India A also made changes. Apart from Mishra's inclusion, B Aparajith replaced Karun Nair in the batting line-up while fast bowler Anureet Singh came in for Dhawal Kulkarni.