Chittagong Kings v Duronto Rajshahi, BPL, Chittagong

Sajib helps Rajshahi script remarkable win

ESPNcricinfo staff

February 18, 2012

Comments: 8 | Text size: A | A

Duronto Rajshahi 126 for 6 (Mushfiqur 24*, Sunny 3-13) beat Chittagong Kings 117 for 9 (Shamsur 24, Sajib 3-22) by nine runs

Saqlain Sajib took 3 for 22 for Rajshahi, Chittagong Kings v Duronto Rajshahi, BPL, Chittagong, February 18, 2012
Saqlain Sajib gave Rajshahi the opening they were looking for © BPL T20

The crowd in Chittagong were treated to two tense games, but had to go home disappointed as their home team, Chittagong Kings, fell short by nine runs in a low-scoring thriller against Duronto Rajshahi. Chittagong Kings got off to a good start chasing 127, but Rajshahi scripted a remarkable turnaround, thanks to the left-arm spinner Saqlain Sajib, who took 3 for 22.

On a pitch taking turn, the Chittagong openers added 40 before Jahurul Islam was run-out. It was the opening which transformed Rajshahi's fortunes as Sajib took two in two balls. Jason Roy was bowled, before Ziaur Rahman was out edging to Junaid Siddique at slip. He added Nasir Jamshed to his tally and suddenly, Chittagong were feeling the heat.

The captain Mahmudullah and Shamsur Rahman led a recovery stand of 34, helped along the way by some ordinary fielding. At 89 for 4, just when the chase had a semblance of control, Mahmudullah fell for 18. There was no looking back from there on as Mohammad Sami struck twice to give Rajshahi the edge. He removed Shamsur top edging a short ball, but was a bit lucky to get Dwayne Bravo lbw, as replays indicated the ball may have missed the leg stump.

Farhad Reza was running out of partners and it didn't help that the required run rate kept climbing. Chittagong failed to find the boundaries and in the end couldn't get themselves to within a massive hit over the rope to finish things off.

Earlier, Chittagong's Arafat Sunny also found good purchase from the pitch, taking a miserly 3 for 13 off his four overs. The left-arm spinner dismissed the overseas trio of Khalid Latif, Marlon Samuels and Abdul Razzaq. After a scratchy start, Rajshahi were led by their captain Mushfiqur Rahim who scored a workmanlike 24 off 25 balls without any boundaries. In the end, the modest 126 turned out to be a match-winning total.

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Posted by Praxis on (February 19, 2012, 11:20 GMT)

Personally, I am not concerned at all that cricinfo provides almost no coverage for BPL. Bangladeshi newspapers, forums & channels are more than capable enough to do what is needed at first, making this tournament popular among Bangladeshis. Also I never liked these T20 tournaments much, but this is an opportunity for BCB to earn some sponsorship money that would've never come through league matches. Now let's hope that BCB uses this money to improve our first class structure.

Posted by SHEAIKH on (February 19, 2012, 7:45 GMT)

It's realy very sad for us that Cricinfo now a day's become BROKER of INDIA...why not commentary for the BPL matches??????????????????

Posted by Shredderwoods on (February 19, 2012, 7:27 GMT)

@Hassan & Muannis: Cricinfo also has the live commentary for BBL and FLT20 as well. Probably they would provide live coverage for semis and finals.

Posted by M_Rakibul_Islam on (February 19, 2012, 4:35 GMT)

Chittagong seems lucky venue 4 every Bangladeshi cricket events. Huge attendance at Zohur Ahmed Stadium & 2 thrilling match.

Posted by   on (February 19, 2012, 2:02 GMT)

Man, what a game that was!!! Excellent performance by Duronto Rajshahi!!!

Posted by   on (February 18, 2012, 20:34 GMT)

Both matches were breathtaking !! Specially this low scoring match was really awesome !! one of my best t-20 game that i've ever seen !!

Posted by   on (February 18, 2012, 20:04 GMT)

cricinfo just follow india. cricinfo need to promote BPL as same as they promote IPL or CLT20....

Posted by muannis on (February 18, 2012, 18:09 GMT)

We just can not understand why there is no commentary for the BPL matches. Poor cricinfo.

Comments have now been closed for this article

Email Feedback Print
Tournament Results
Barisal v Dhaka at Dhaka - Feb 29, 2012
Dhaka won by 8 wickets (with 26 balls remaining)
Dhaka v Khulna at Dhaka - Feb 28, 2012
Dhaka won by 9 runs
Barisal v Rajshahi at Dhaka - Feb 28, 2012
Barisal won by 8 wickets (with 24 balls remaining)
Khulna v Royals at Dhaka - Feb 27, 2012
Khulna won by 69 runs
Dhaka v Rajshahi at Dhaka - Feb 27, 2012
Rajshahi won by 3 wickets (with 3 balls remaining)
More results »
News | Features Last 3 days
News | Features Last 3 days