Duronto Rajshahi v Sylhet Royals, BPL, Mirpur

Akmal and Tanvir star in Sylhet's maiden win

ESPNcricinfo staff

February 24, 2012

Text size: A | A

Sylhet Royals 125 for 1 (Akmal 72*) beat Duronto Rajshahi 124 for 9 (Shahzaib 54*, Tanvir 4-13, Hasan 3-30) by nine wickets

After seven consecutive defeats, the Sylhet Royals finally opened their account in the BPL, albeit a bit late in the day. They turned in a fine all-round performance, beating Duronto Rajshahi by nine wickets thanks to the Pakistan duo of Sohail Tanvir and Kamran Akmal, who starred with ball and bat respectively.

The Rajshahi batsmen looked out of sorts, with the exception of Shahzaib Hasan who scored 54. Tanvir, who dismissed Junaid Siddique, playing onto his stumps, later nipped out two wickets in two balls to leave Rajshahi struggling to mount a competitive score. He could have had a five-wicket haul, had it not been for Alok Kapali's dropped catch at long-on. Tanvir was supported by the right-arm seamer Abul Hasan, who took 3 for 30.

The Sylhet openers, Akmal and Peter Trego, put the chase on course with a stand of 52. Akmal hit three sixes in his unbeaten 72, off 51 balls and ensured Sylhet crossed the finish line with more than three overs to spare.

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Email Feedback Print
Tournament Results
Barisal v Dhaka at Dhaka - Feb 29, 2012
Dhaka won by 8 wickets (with 26 balls remaining)
Dhaka v Khulna at Dhaka - Feb 28, 2012
Dhaka won by 9 runs
Barisal v Rajshahi at Dhaka - Feb 28, 2012
Barisal won by 8 wickets (with 24 balls remaining)
Khulna v Royals at Dhaka - Feb 27, 2012
Khulna won by 69 runs
Dhaka v Rajshahi at Dhaka - Feb 27, 2012
Rajshahi won by 3 wickets (with 3 balls remaining)
More results »
News | Features Last 3 days
News | Features Last 3 days