India in Bangladesh 2009-10 November 12, 2009

Bangladesh prepare to host India

Cricinfo staff

India begin 2010 with a tour of Bangladesh in January. The teams participate in a triangular ODI series, also involving Sri Lanka, and play two Tests. The Shere Bangla National Stadium in Mirpur will stage the tri-series and the second Test; the first will be held in Chittagong. India last toured the country in 2007, after the World Cup, and this assignment follows their home series against Sri Lanka.

The tri-series starts on January 4 and the tour concludes on January 29. No warm-up games have yet been scheduled.

This will be India's fourth tour of the country, but they've never hosted Bangladesh for a Test or a bilateral ODI series. Upon becoming a Test-playing nation, Bangladesh played their first Test against India in Dhaka, losing by nine wickets. They then hosted India in 2004, losing 0-2, and in 2007, when they drew a rain-affected first Test in Chittagong before being thumped by an innings in the second in Dhaka.


January 2 - Indian team arrives
January 4 - Bangladesh v Sri Lanka (D/N), Mirpur
January 5 - India v Sri Lanka (D/N), Mirpur
January 7 - Bangladesh v India (D/N), Mirpur
January 8 - Bangladesh v Sri Lanka (D/N), Mirpur
January 10 - India v Sri Lanka (D/N), Mirpur
January 11 - India v Bangladesh (D/N), Mirpur
January 13 - Final (D/N), Mirpur
January 17-21 - First Test, Chittagong
January 24-28 - Second Test, Mirpur
January 29 - Indian team departs