February 29, 2008


Ireland name U-15 squad

Andrew McGlashan

The ICU have announced a 14-man squad for the Under-15 Clico International tournament in West Indies which starts on April 19 and runs for two weeks.

Hugh MacDonnell from Leinster will captain the side and Ben Wylie from Instonians is the vice-captain. There are eight countries participating in firstly a knockout competition, followed by an international championships, which has been split into two groups.

Ireland have been given a tough draw, facing Pakistan in the knockout phase, while they are drawn with West Indies, Bangladesh and Kenya in the group stages.

Squad Hugh Mac Donnell (capt) (Leinster), Ben Wylie (Instonians), Jonathan Andrews (North County), Jordan Coghlan (Clontarf), Eoghan Conway (Rush), George Dockrell (Leinster), Shane Getkate (Malahide), Matthew Gillespie (Donemana), Hugo Mays (Railway Union), Andrew McBrine (Donemana), Graeme McCarter (Killyclooney), Philip Moon (Limavady), Simon Olphert (Eglinton), Jason van der Merwe (Muckamore)


Andrew McGlashan is an assistant editor at ESPNcricinfo

RSS Feeds: Andrew McGlashan

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.


Andrew McGlashan
Assistant Editor Andrew arrived at ESPNcricinfo via Manchester and Cape Town, after finding the assistant editor at a weak moment as he watched England's batting collapse in the Newlands Test. Andrew began his cricket writing as a freelance covering Lancashire during 2004 when they were relegated in the County Championship. In fact, they were top of the table when he began reporting on them but things went dramatically downhill. He likes to let people know that he is a supporter of county cricket, a fact his colleagues will testify to and bemoan in equal quantities.

All articles by this writer