August 1, 2010

ICC World Cricket League Division Four

Squads named for WCL Division 4

Liam Brickhill

Nepal, USA, Italy, Cayman Islands, Argentina and Tanzania have announced their squads to compete in the World Cricket League Division 4 in Bologna, Italy as the teams continue along the path that may ultimately lead to a place at the World Cup in 2015. The top two sides at Division 4 tournament, which will be played from August 14 to 21, will move a step closer with promotion to the WCL Division 3 to be staged in Hong Kong in January 2011.

“We have good knowledge of Nepal who we played against in February and also Cayman Islands and Argentina whom we have regularly played, including as recently as May in ICC Americas Division 1 and we beat them on both occasions,” said USA captain Steve Massiah. “The other two teams we don’t know so well, but I’m confident we’re prepared and ready to continue moving up the World Cricket League ladder.”

“We’re looking forward to the tournament,” commented Cayman Islands’ coach Theo Cuffy. “It will be the first time to Europe for a number of our team and it’s going to be a tough tournament with strong teams, but we’re confident we can do well.”

This will be the first global ICC event to be hosted in Italy. Matches will be played at three venues in the Bologna area – Pianoro, Medicina and Bologna.

Ian Gould, a member of the ICC’s Elite Panel of umpires, will be one of nine umpires officiating at the event, which will be overseen by match referee David Jukes. Gould follows in the footsteps of fellow Elite Panel umpire Simon Taufel who officiated in Singapore at WCL Div. 6 in 2009.

Argentina: Esteban MacDermott (capt), Grant Dugmore, Agustin Casime, Alejandro Ferguson, Pablo Ferguson, Donald Forrester, Tomas Francis, Carlos Gibson, Diego Lord, Lucas Paterlini, Matias Paterlini, Pablo Ryan, Gary Savage, Martin Siri.

Cayman Islands: Saheed Mohamed (capt), Pearson Best, Ryan Bovell, Kervin Ebanks, Paul Chin, Marlon Byran, Ricardo Roach, Jaylon Linton, Abali Hoilett, Conroy Wright, Alassandra Morris, Kevin Bazil, Ramon Sealy, Ronald Ebanks.

Italy: Alessandro Bonora (capt), Roshendra Abewickrama, Din Alaud, Dilan Arsakulasuriya, Damien Crowley, Gayashan Munasinghe, Thushara Kurukulasuriya, Damian Fernando, Andrew Northcote, Nicholas Northcote, Hayden dell’Agnello, Peter Petricola, Michael Raso, Stanly Kankanamge.

Nepal: Paras Kadka (capt), Gyanendra Malla, Shakti Gauchan, Sharad Vesawkar, Mahesh Kumar Chhetri, Anil Kumar Mandal, Amrit Battarai, Basant Regmi, Binod Kumar Das, Sanjam Regmi, Rahul Kumar Vishwakarma, Mahaboob Alam, Manjeet Shrestha, Pradeep Airee.

Tanzania: Hamzi Abdallah (capt), Abhik Patwa, Hasnain Damji, Khalil Rehemtulla, Seif Khalifa, Riziki Kiseto, Kassim Nassoro, Issa Kikasi, Enjo Kiongozi, Shaheed Danani, Rashidi Amiri, Benson Mwita, Harsh Ramaiya, Ally Kimote.

USA: Steve Massiah (capt), Muhammad Asad Ghous, Steven Taylor, Rashard Marshall, Sushil Nadkarni, Timroy Allen, Orlando Baker, Carl Wright, Aditya Thyagarajan, Adrian Gordon, Lennox Cush, Khawaja Usman Shuja, Kevin Darlington, Nasir Javed.


12 August – Team arrivals 13 August – Practice 14 August – USA v Nepal (Pianoro); Italy v Cayman Islands (Medicina); Tanzania v Argentina (Bologna) 15 August – Italy v Nepal (Pianoro); Argentina v Cayman Islands (Medicina); USA v Tanzania (Bologna) 16 August – Rest/Reserve Day 17 August – Italy v Argentina (Pianoro); Nepal v Tanzania (Medicina); USA v Cayman Islands (Bologna) 18 August – Cayman Islands v Tanzania (Pianoro); Italy v USA (Medicina); Nepal v Argentina (Bologna) 19 August – Rest/Reserve Day 20 August – USA v Argentina (Pianoro); Cayman Islands v Nepal (Medicina); Tanzania v Italy (Bologna) 21 August – Final (Pianoro); third/fourth play-off (Medicina); fifth/sixth play-off (Bologna)


Liam Brickhill is a freelance journalist based in Cape Town

RSS Feeds: Liam Brickhill

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Posted by Arvindh on (August 21, 2010, 15:48 GMT)

I feel Nepal can not come good against USA dont forget US has played two matches in ICC champions trophy especially one against Australia.They have better exposure.I feel Nepal must be coached by an ex-Indian player.Anyway all the best for Nepal.I support Nepal

Posted by Tirtha on (August 14, 2010, 10:26 GMT)

Best of luck "Nepal"

Posted by NIRJAL on (August 14, 2010, 0:20 GMT)

nepal nepal nepal nepal nepal......u can dot it..........u r one step ahead......glory glory glory

Posted by bishal shrestha on (August 13, 2010, 21:07 GMT)

we have to play our best n result will be there.we have to focus our batting.this is gud chance 4 paras to pick the of luck nepal.

Posted by Kundan on (August 12, 2010, 6:06 GMT)

"Jay Nepal" Now it is the time to win the trophy of WCL 4 for Nepal. Commmmmmmmon Binod and Meheboob, rock in Italy, we are here with you. Don't for get the final of WCL Div 5 and play very seriously cause USA is also playing with us. No need to worry with other teams.

Posted by Rupesh Devkota,Sydney on (August 11, 2010, 23:42 GMT)

If the game/performance wouldn't be repeated like Nepal played the last league match against USA in WCL DIV 5..Then its the heavenly truth that this tournament is organised to give one more trophy to one and only NEPAL...

Posted by brijesh thapaliya on (August 11, 2010, 12:36 GMT)

nepal will surely lift the division 4 the best to neplese team ..hope they perform great.....3 cheers to u neplese rock in europe....all the best

Posted by Sankalpa on (August 11, 2010, 10:43 GMT)

I only know that NEPAL will be on final

Posted by Boby on (August 10, 2010, 19:08 GMT)

Nepal gona Win dis WDL 4. My hope is in Mahaboob Allam who took 10wickets in International Cricket and He is hard Hitter also. I cant forget his Six in Bhairahawa against MCC Team. USA is good team but WDL 4 is of Nepal.

Posted by Supen on (August 10, 2010, 12:54 GMT)

@Pacific, ya may be but Nepal in particular deserves being in the upper level with familiar names like Ireland, Scotland, Nederland, Kenya and Afghanistan around.

Comments have now been closed for this article