Champions Twenty20 League May 24, 2009

Champions League expanded from eight to 12 teams

Cricinfo staff

The domestic Twenty20 winners of West Indies, Sri Lanka and New Zealand, as well as Delhi Daredevils, will also get an opportunity to participate in the inaugural Champions Twenty20 League, to be held from October 8-23 in India, just after the Champions Trophy. Lalit Modi, the tournament's chairman, said the prize money for the tournament will be US$ 6 million, and the draw will be held in London on June 23 after which the venues will be finalised.

Delhi have been included on the basis of having topped the round-robin stage of the 2009 IPL. They will be joined by Deccan Chargers and Royal Challengers Bangalore, the 2009 IPL finalists.

Other 2009 domestic finalists and winners include Victoria and New South Wales (Australia), Cape Cobras and Eagles (South Africa), Otago (New Zealand), Trinidad and Tobago (West Indies) and Wayamba (Sri Lanka). England's Twenty20 Cup only begins on Monday and the finalists will only be decided on August 25.

There will be a total of 23 matches and the teams will be divided into four groups of three each to play on a league basis before the top two teams from each group move on to the second stage. The four top teams from there will play the semi-finals.

Last year's IPL finalists Rajasthan Royals and Chennai Super Kings will not be eligible. Sialkot Stallions, the winners of Pakistan's domestic Twenty20 tournament, will not feature as originally scheduled because their government has restricted travel to India.

"Unfortunately, the Pakistan government won't give them clearance to come to India, and since yesterday was out cut-off date, it's not possible to have a team from Pakistan this year," said Modi. "Delhi Daredevils this year have highest points from the league. But from next year, the third team from India will be decided from a play-off between the two losing semi-finalists."

Modi also said that players from the unofficial ICL could also represent their domestic teams, provided they resign from the league before May 31. However, if their domestic sides qualify for the Champions League those players will not be allowed to play as part of a "one-year cooling period".

The tournament was initially supposed to held from December 3-11 2008 in Mumbai, Chennai and Bangalore but was put off after the terrorist attacks in Mumbai. The cancellation came as a huge blow for the teams that qualified for the 2008 edition, as they would have received at least US$250,000 as participating fees. Each team gets a minimum guarantee amount for playing in the tournament.

On the night of the IPL final in Johannesburg, Modi said on television that the fourth season of the IPL, in 2011, could feature ten teams instead of eight.

Comments have now been closed for this article

  • ricky on May 27, 2009, 2:43 GMT

    double standards indeed!!! let there be a qualifying match between CSK and DD. show some justice to CSK.

  • arpan on May 26, 2009, 17:44 GMT

    I dont know why bluebillion want to include ICL teams? I want to see Ahmedabad and Kanpur as new teams.. Delhi is rightly included as league toppers should get some advantage

  • Pratyush on May 26, 2009, 16:09 GMT

    no one here has given an explanation to why keep CSK out.I am a huge MSD fan so I want to see some redemption of CSK in the Champions League. And when I knew of the 3rd team in CL then my mind sprung up various possibilities of them playing. It is pretty obviuos that if you choose in an simple manner you will choose Delhi but it is a bit unfair to CSK as they finished 2nd in the league stage. What was the use of that ? First you work so hard and then get undone by some bad luck in the semis ! Just not fair. Final of such a long league should be between 1 and 2, simply because they have performed the best for 5 weeks & 14 matches. And the final should be a best of 3 affair, let the best team win !

  • Aabhas on May 26, 2009, 12:37 GMT

    I dont think there's a need to criticise Modi for including DD in the Champions League. He has already said that there will be a playoff from next year. As long as Chennai are not complaining you guys shouldnt be too!!! By the way Mr. Modi - good idea to have 10 teams for IPL 2010 - maybe you should have the top 2 of the ICL as the 2 extra teams ... What say?

  • Doug on May 26, 2009, 10:12 GMT

    I think the thinking behind letting Delhi in is they won a league easily, then lost a one-off match. A way roung this would be to let the top three in the league into the champions league, with just one semi-final between 2nd and 3rd with the league winners getting free passage to the final.

    Of c ourse, it would make sense to have the Champions LEague as an ICC event with venue rotation and a team from Pakistan.

  • Muhammad on May 26, 2009, 7:42 GMT

    Is Mr. Modi is mind reader of Pakistan Gov. How the hell he know that Pakistan Gov. won't give security clearance to Sialkot Stallions. It is obvious that is India is playing games in-order to isolate Pakistan from rest of the world and they are doing it at every level. The IPL didn't even ask PCB for getting clearance. It is shame how politics is so much involved in cricket that has captured cricket for taking political avenge.

  • siva on May 26, 2009, 3:53 GMT

    come on guys be fair. there is no need to select the 3rd team from ipl contenders. if you really need to select the 3rd team then as prats_p said there should be qualifying match between them

  • amith on May 25, 2009, 19:45 GMT

    this is superb,ipl should be played 4 times in a year and cl 4 times there should not be or very less international cricket ipl is best entertainment lalith modi is a next god for the cricketers and its fan he is great

  • Shazzan on May 25, 2009, 16:14 GMT

    The idea of including the one who topped the league round pretty unfair and may cause problems in the future. Because if both the finalists are the ones who topped the league, then what is the solution? Another second team from either west indies or sri lanka or new zealand should be chosen instead of a third IPL team

  • Pratyush on May 25, 2009, 16:01 GMT

    I cant understand how Delhi have been chosen as the third team. This is quite unfair to Chennai really. If the top 3 teams are selected on basis of league stages CSK were 2nd placed. While if you go with the 2 finalists, how come Delhi are chosen ahead of CSK ? Double standards, and the BCCI is famous for it, the IPL even more. Just does not make any sense to me. Either have a qualifying match between CSK and DD for the 3rd place.

  • No featured comments at the moment.