ICC news December 3, 2013

Dhoni nominated for two individual ICC awards

ESPNcricinfo staff

Along side being named captain of the ICC ODI Team of the Year, MS Dhoni is also in the running for two ICC individual awards - Cricketer of the Year and ODI Cricketer of the Year. Kumar Sangakkara has also been nominated for those two categories while Hashim Amla, James Anderson and Michael Clarke are in the running for the Cricketer of the Year and Test Cricketer of the Year awards. Misbah-ul-Haq, shortlisted for the ODI Cricketer of the Year, is the only player among these nominees who is not part of the Teams of the Year.

The Emerging Cricketer of the Year shortlist features Trent Boult, Cheteshwar Pujara, Joe Root and Mitchell Starc. To qualify for this award, a player must be under the age of 26 and have played fewer than five Tests and/or 10 ODIs and/or five T20Is at the start of the performance period.

The performance period for the awards, to be announced on December 14, is between August 7, 2012 and August 25, 2013. The longlists of nominations for each award were put together by a five-person ICC selection panel, before a 32-member voting academy trimmed the nominees to the shortlists.

The selection panel was chaired by former India captain Anil Kumble, also the chairman of the ICC cricket committee. The panel also includes former internationals Alec Stewart of England, Catherine Campbell of New Zealand, Waqar Younis of Pakistan and Graeme Pollock of South Africa, while the academy includes former players, members of the media as well as representatives of the ICC elite panels of umpires and match referees.

The David Shepherd Trophy for the Umpire of the Year award was voted on by the 10 current Test captains and the elite panel of match referees and is partly based on the umpires' performance statistics. The nominees are the 12 umpires in the elite panel.

Dhoni won the People's Choice award, becoming the third cricketer after Sachin Tendulkar and Sangakkara to be given the prize. Clarke, Alastair Cook, Virat Kohli and AB de Villiers were also nominated for the award.*


Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for ICC Cricketer of the Year
Hashim Amla, James Anderson, Michael Clarke, Alastair Cook, MS Dhoni, Kumar Sangakkara

ICC Test Cricketer of the Year
Hashim Amla, James Anderson, R Ashwin, Michael Clarke, Cheteshwar Pujara, Dale Steyn

ICC ODI Cricketer of the Year
Saeed Ajmal, Shikhar Dhawan, MS Dhoni, Misbah-ul-Haq, Ravindra Jadeja, Kumar Sangakkara

ICC Women's ODI Cricketer of the Year
Suzie Bates (New Zealand), Charlotte Edwards (England), Meg Lanning (Australia), Dane van Niekerk (South Africa), Anya Shrubsole (England), Stafanie Taylor (West Indies)

ICC Emerging Cricketer of the Year
Trent Boult, Cheteshwar Pujara, Joe Root, Mitchell Starc

ICC Associate and Affiliate Cricketer of the Year
Kevin O'Brien (Ireland), Kyle Coetzer (Scotland), Ed Joyce (Ireland), Nawroz Mangal (Afghanistan)

ICC Twenty20 International Performance of the Year
Umar Gul, 2.2-0-6-5 v South Africa, Centurion, March 3, 2013
Martin Guptill, 101* (69b, 9x4, 6x6) v South Africa, East London, December 23, 2012
Brendon McCullum, 123 (58b, 11x4, 7x6) v Bangladesh, Pallekele, September 21, 2012
Ajantha Mendis, 4-2-8-6 v Zimbabwe, Hambantota, September 18, 2012

ICC Women's T20I Cricketer of the Year
Suzie Bates (New Zealand), Shanel Daley (West Indies), Deandra Dottin (West Indies), Meg Lanning (Australia), Sarah Taylor (England), Stafanie Taylor (West Indies)

David Shepherd Trophy for ICC Umpire of the Year
Aleem Dar, Steve Davis, Kumar Dharmasena, Marais Erasmus, Ian Gould, Tony Hill, Richard Illingworth, Richard Kettleborough, Nigel Llong, Bruce Oxenford, Paul Reiffel, Rodney Tucker

*1036 GMT, December 4, 2013. The piece was updated with news of Dhoni's award.