Herman Griffith      

Full name Herman Clarence Griffith

Born December 1, 1893, Arima, Trinidad

Died March 18, 1980, Bridgetown, Barbados (aged 86 years 108 days)

Major teams West Indies, Barbados

Batting style Right-hand bat

Bowling style Right-arm fast

Relation Son - HLV Griffith, Son - GHC Griffith, Son - EHC Griffith

Herman Clarence Griffith
Batting and fielding averages
Mat Inns NO Runs HS Ave 100 50 6s Ct St
Tests Insights on test 13 23 5 91 18 5.05 0 0 0 4 0
First-class 79 108 28 1204 84 15.05 0 4 36 0
Bowling averages
Mat Inns Balls Runs Wkts BBI BBM Ave Econ SR 4w 5w 10
Tests Insights on test 13 18 2663 1243 44 6/103 8/162 28.25 2.80 60.5 2 2 0
First-class 79 14658 7294 258 7/38 28.27 2.98 56.8 12 2
Career statistics
Test debut England v West Indies at Lord's, Jun 23-26, 1928 scorecard
Last Test England v West Indies at The Oval, Aug 12-15, 1933 scorecard
Test statistics
First-class span 1921/22 - 1940/41
Profile

In an age when West Indian fast bowlers abound, it might easily be overlooked that half a century ago there were men like Constantine, Martindale, Francis, and Herman Griffith, none of whom would have weakened the current West Indies Test XI. Griffith, the last survivor of those mentioned, died in Bridgetown in March at an age, 86, which helps defy the belief, held by so many fast bowlers themselves, that the vigorous pursuit of their youthful days on the cricket field shortens life.

  • Read More
Latest Articles
Latest Photos

1979

Herman Griffith

Herman Griffith

© The Cricketer International

Country Fixtures Country Results
1st Youth ODI: Zim U19 v W Indies U19 at Harare
Jul 23, 2017 (09:00 local | 07:00 GMT | 03:00 EDT | 02:00 CDT | 00:00 PDT)
2nd Youth ODI: Zim U19 v W Indies U19 in Zimbabwe (venue TBA)
Jul 26, 2017 (07:00 GMT | 05:30 EDT | 04:30 CDT | 02:30 PDT)
3rd Youth ODI: Zim U19 v W Indies U19 at Harare
Jul 29, 2017 (09:00 local | 07:00 GMT | 03:00 EDT | 02:00 CDT | 00:00 PDT)
Essex v West Indies at Chelmsford
Aug 1-3, 2017 (11:00 local | 10:00 GMT | 06:00 EDT | 05:00 CDT | 03:00 PDT)
Stars v T&T Riders at Gros Islet
Aug 4, 2017 (21:00 local | 01:00 GMT 1d | 21:00 EDT | 20:00 CDT | 18:00 PDT)
Complete fixtures » | Download Fixtures »
News | Features Last 3 days
News | Features Last 3 days
INSIGHTS
FORMAT
ODIs
RECORD TYPE
TEAM