Players / Australia / George Gilbert

George Gilbert      

Full name George Henry Bailey Gilbert

Born September 2, 1829, Cheltenham, Gloucestershire, England

Died June 16, 1906, Summer Hill, Sydney, New South Wales (aged 76 years 287 days)

Major teams Middlesex, New South Wales

Batting style Right-hand bat

Bowling style Right-arm medium (roundarm)

Relation Half-brother - WR Gilbert, Cousin - WG Rees, Cousin - H Grace, Cousin - EM Grace, Cousin - WJ Pocock, Cousin - WG Grace, Cousin - GF Grace, Cousin - AH Grace

Batting and fielding averages
Mat Inns NO Runs HS Ave 100 50 Ct St
First-class 18 34 0 283 31 8.32 0 0 13 0
Bowling averages
Mat Balls Runs Wkts BBI Ave Econ SR 5w 10
First-class 18 262+ 160+ 28 6/65 10.00* 3.66 16.3* 2 1
Career statistics
First-class debut Marylebone Cricket Club and Metropolitan Clubs v All England Eleven at Lord's, May 5-6, 1851 scorecard
Last First-class 1874/75
Profile

An allrounder, albeit one who was a bit of a slogger as a batsman, George Gilbert was one of Australia's cricketing pioneers, the first man to lead New South Wales in a first-class match (in 1856) and the first to take a hat-trick in an inter-state game. Born in England, he had played a few games for Middlesex before emigrating in 1852 , and he played for NSW for a decade from that first game and in club matches until 1876.

  • Read More
Country Fixtures Country Results
4th Youth ODI: Aust U19 v England U19 at Perth
Apr 21, 2015 (09:30 local | 01:30 GMT | 21:30 EDT -1d | 20:30 CDT -1d | 18:30 PDT -1d)
5th Youth ODI: Aust U19 v England U19 at Perth
Apr 23, 2015 (09:30 local | 01:30 GMT | 21:30 EDT -1d | 20:30 CDT -1d | 18:30 PDT -1d)
TBA v Australians at North Sound
May 27-29, 2015 (03:57 EDT | 02:57 CDT | 00:57 PDT)
1st Test: West Indies v Australia at Roseau
Jun 3-7, 2015 (03:57 EDT | 02:57 CDT | 00:57 PDT)
2nd Test: West Indies v Australia at Kingston
Jun 11-15, 2015 (04:57 EDT | 03:57 CDT | 01:57 PDT)
Complete fixtures » | Download Fixtures »
News | Features Last 3 days
News | Features Last 3 days