January 3, 2002

England name squad for one-day series

Staff Reporter

The England and Wales Cricket Board announced the English squad for the upcoming six-match one-day series in India, due to begin in Kolkata on January 19. While the selectors retained the core of the side that did Test duty just a few weeks ago, there have been some notable changes.

Making a return to the side after skipping the Tests due to security concerns is pace bowler Andrew Caddick. He will partner Matthew Hoggard with the new ball, as Darren Gough does not make an appearance in the squad list. Middle-order batsman Graham Thorpe, who left midway through the Test series to attend to personal problems, also returns to the team.

Alec Stewart, who also declared himself unavailable before the start of the Tests, is missing from the squad, even though he confirmed his willingness to participate in the one-day series. James Foster and Warren Hegg were the two stumpers named in the list.

Richard Johnson and Martyn Ball are other players missing from the Test squad, but the most significant exclusion is that of Craig White. The Yorkshire all-rounder, who made his debut Test century at Ahmedabad, will undergo keyhole surgery on his left knee. White aggravated the injury during the last day of the third Test at Bangalore.

Chairman of selectors David Graveney said, "In picking this squad, we were keen to retain the nucleus of the team which exceeded many people's expectations in India before Christmas in drawing two Test Matches and losing one."

The named squad, with the addition of White after his surgery, will travel on to New Zealand after the one-dayer to take on the Kiwis in a Test and one-day series.

The squad:

Nasser Hussain (captain), Usman Afzaal, Mark Butcher, Andrew Caddick, Richard Dawson, Andrew Flintoff, James Foster, Ashley Giles, Warren Hegg, Matthew Hoggard, James Ormond, Mark Ramprakash, Graham Thorpe, Marcus Trescothick, Michael Vaughan