India U-23s v Pakistan U-23s, Group A, ACC Emerging Teams Cup August 18, 2013

Warrier, Chand set up close India win

ESPNcricinfo staff

India Under-23s 192 for 7 (Chand 61, Hasan 3-39) beat Pakistan Under-23s 191 for 7 (Salahuddin 61, Warrier 3-32) by three wickets
Scorecard and ball-by-ball details

Opener Unmukt Chand's 103-ball 61 helped India Under-23s beat Pakistan Under-23s by three-wickets in a close match at the ACC Emerging Teams Cup.

Put in to bat, Pakistan were unable to cope with an early spell from the pacers Sandeep Warrier and Sandeep Sharma, who dismissed top-order batsmen Babar Azam, Azeem Ghumman and Bilawal Bhatti within 10 overs to leave Pakistan struggling at 22 for 3.

An 85-run fourth-wicket partnership between Usman Salahuddin and Umar Waheed stabilised Pakistan's innings. However, Waheed gave his wicket away in the 36th over, his mistimed drive against left-arm spinner Akshar Patel reaching only as far as mid-on.

Following the breakthrough, India seized the advantage by dismissing Mohammad Nawaz and Hammad Azam in quick succession. Salahuddin made a unhurried 61, but was eventually caught at cover by Baba Aparajith off Warrier, who was named the Man of the Match for his figures of three for 32. Wicketkeeper Mohammad Rizwan struck a 21-ball 25 to push Pakistan to the cusp of 200.

Set 192 to chase, India began slowly, but comfortably, with the openers Chand and Lokesh Rahul involved in an 84-run stand to put India in a very healthy position.

However, Rahul's wicket in the 26th over got Pakistan back in the game, as left-arm spinner Raza Hasan, who had returned to competitive cricket in March after suffering a serious injury to his spine in December, took two wickets, including that of Chand's in the 38th over. Bhatti chimed in with a wicket and Nawaz took his second to leave India at 150 for 5, and needing 42 off 49.

Ashok Menaria calmed the nerves by smashing two sixes and a four during his 9-ball 18, before becoming Hasan's third victim in the 48th over. But with just one run to win, Aparajith took India home.