September 16, 1999

Zoe Goss to captain the Western Fury

WA's best known women's cricketer, Zoe Goss, has returned home to lead Western Fury into the 1999-2000 Women's National Cricket League.

Goss (30), who first represented WA in an open side at just 14 years of age back in 1985, joined Victoria in 1997, but has returned home to complete studies and lead a star-studded Western Fury into battle.

She spent 12 years in the Australian side and shot to fame when she dismissed one of the world's greatest batsmen, current West Indian skipper Brian Lara, in an exhibition match in the early 90s.

The allrounder heads an experienced leadership team with former Fury skipper Angele Gray appointed vice-captain. Last year's captain Sue Lienert is deputy vice-captain, while veteran Western Warriors off-spinner Bret Mulder is the new coach.

Zoe Goss, Angele Gray and Sue Lienert will be available for interviews and photo opportunities at the WACA at 10.15am, today, Thurs, September 16.

Also in the strong line-up are current Australian players Avril Fahey and Elwyn Campbell, along with Australian youth team members (under-23s) Marieke Johnson, 17-year-old Peta Merriles and Emma Murphy.

The 1999-2000 Western Fury squad is: Zoe Goss (captain), Angele Gray (vice-captain), Sue Lienert (deputy vice-captain), Cherie Bambury, Diane Brown, Julie Burnett, Elwyn Campbell, Michelle Cobb, Christy Craven, Avril Fahey, Marieke Johnson, Julianne Langley, Peta Merriles, Emma Murphy and Carolyn Phillips.

Season 1999-2000 will be Western Fury's fourth in the national competition. They begin with a clash against NSW at the WACA on Saturday, October 30, 1999.