December 7, 2001

Leewards call up 24 players for Busta trials

The Leeward Islands Cricket Association (LICA), have called up 24 players for trials ahead of the 2002 Busta Cup and Busta International Shield which begins on 25 January, 2002.

Among the 24 players called up for duties on the senior Leewards' team are five players who have previously represented the West Indies. They are Stuart Williams (who has also being named as captain), Dave Joseph, Carl Tuckett, Kerry Jeremy, and Sylvester Joseph.

Also in the squad for the first time are: Adam Stanford, McPherson Meade and Marlon Martin. The three Leeward Islands Under-19 selectees on the West Indies Under 19 team - Tonito Willet, Gavin Tonge and Gareth Matthew - will also join the training camp until their departure in early January for the Youth World Cup in New Zealand.

One noteable omission from the squad chosen is the young, Antiguan wicketkeeper/batsman, Bertel Baltimore - who topped the Antiguan averages during the recently concluded Red Stripe Bowl competition and is seen as the natural replacement for Ridley Jacobs who will be away on West Indies duties for most of the 2002 Busta Cup.

The full team reads: Stuart Williams, Carl Tuckett, Runako Morton, Joel Simmonds (NEVIS), Alex Adams, Omari Banks, Marlon Martin (ANGUILLA), Dave Joseph, Wilden Cornwall, Adam Stanford, Ricky Christopher, Goldwyn Prince, Kerry Jeremy, Sylvester Joseph, Anthony Lake, Ian Tittle (ANTIGUA), McPherson Meade, Davon Williams, Tyrone Greenaway (MONTSERRAT), Jason Williams, Sheldon Jeffers, Junie Mitchum, Elsroy Powell, Shane Jeffers (ST. KITTS).

The management team comprises of Ingleton Liburd (manager), and John Archibald (coach). Up to the time of writing this article, LICA could not say where and when the camp will be held, nor the extent of the training camp.

Meanwhile, former Leeward Islands manager, Carlisle Powell, was elected as LICA's president at its recent AGM. Powell now fills the vacant position, following the elevation of Val Banks as WICB's vice president earlier this year. His vice president will be the former West Indies youth captain, Zorol Barthley.

LICA also named the selection panel for the next year. It will be headed by former Leeward Islands player, Noel Guishard, with the other members of the panel being Fitzroy Buffonge and John Archibald.