India A v India B, Deodhar Trophy 2015-16, final January 29, 2016

Bowlers, Faiz Fazal lead India A to title

ESPNcricinfo staff

India A 286 for 7 (Fazal 100, Vijay 69, Kulkarni 2-31) beat India B 199 (Binny 60, Nadeem 3-36) by 87 runs

File photo - Faiz Fazal's century boosted India A to a match-winning total of 286 for 7 © PTI

A century from opening batsman Faiz Fazal and a collective effort from the bowling attack led India A to an 87-run triumph over India B in the Deodhar Trophy final in Kanpur.

Fazal paired with M Vijay for a first-wicket partnership of 162 after India A had opted to bat, setting the base for a competitive total. The pair batted out 31.2 overs in their partnership, playing through a slow start before accelerating. Nathu Singh broke the partnership getting Vijay out in the 32nd over for a 91-ball 69, which included three fours and three sixes.

Fazal, who was batting on 87 at the time, reached his fifth List A century five overs later, getting to the landmark through a six over long-off. His run-out off the next ball, however, meant that India A had lost their top three for 25 runs within five overs. Kedar Jadhav then steered the last leg of India A's innings, striking four fours and two sixes in his unbeaten 39-ball 58 which took the team's total to 286 for 7.

India B's chase had threatened to unravel early as S Aravind and Krishna Das carved out the top order to leave the side reeling at 40 for 4 by the 11th over. That score soon changed to 54 for 5 with Dinesh Karthik's dismissal but Suryakumar Yadav and Stuart Binny kept the India A attack at bay with a 62-run partnership for the sixth wicket, which eventually helped take the team total to 199. Binny was involved in another half-century stand - 50 runs with Karn Sharma for the eighth wicket - before his dismissal in the 41st over sealed the match for India A. The allrounder struck seven fours in his 73-ball 60 before he fell to Shahbaz Nadeem who finished with returns of 3 for 36.

Comments have now been closed for this article

  • suyoga on January 30, 2016, 6:59 GMT

    @indthebest we need an all rounder at no6 at least some one who can bowl 4-5 overs. With this pace attack india can not get full 10 overs from the fast bowler. At the moment raina, yuvraj, pandya or gurkeerat can fit into that position. For no 4 we have rahane, pandey or jhadav

  • IndTheBest on January 29, 2016, 21:34 GMT

    Kedar Jadhav has been a very consistent performer. He also has a century in his last ODI. So now we got three players i.e. Kedar Jadhav, Manish Pandey and Manoj Tiwary who all has hit century in their last ODI appearance. If you look consistency, strike rate and average then Kedar Jadhav seems best among them. Also, both Panday and Tiwari are top order batsman where as Kedar is a middle order batsman. We need a reliable #6 batsman in ODI and Kedar seem to be the answer. Hardik can fill that spot in T20 but for ODI Kedar is better suited.

  • suyoga on January 29, 2016, 18:54 GMT

    Kartcric none of the bowlers u have mentioned can bowl well on a descent wicket. All of them can look good on green tops. This is currently the best set of players and when they can not perform well amongst themselves then what can they do in international level. Just like rishi dhawan karan sharma etc who are good with domestic players

  • VVP on January 29, 2016, 17:58 GMT

    Kedar, Kulkarni and Rayudu impressed a lot. All three are deserved to get another chance. With no green horse emerged for pace bowling all rounder slot in Australia again selectors have to try with Binny , who in fact has a average performance in international cricket. One great thing with Kedar Jadav is that when ever he is great touch , scores fluently irrespective of the slot. Thakur is worthy successor for getting the pace bowlers slot, he is better than Umesh Yadav and Bhuvanesh. As usual Sanj Samson wasted some more chances. The others have to spend more time in domestic cricket.

  • ravinder mohan on January 29, 2016, 16:44 GMT

    all players have good n bad days or two. their failure in this tournament has more to do with its irregular team building than anything else as playets got very less time to gel. still iyer got starts n agarwal also got starts. so not a complete failure bt a learning curve fr them.

  • sachin on January 29, 2016, 16:05 GMT

    Unfortunate that Shreyas Iyer and Mayank cdnt deliver so close to the T20 matches with SL. Kedar Jadhav has been a consistent and swashbuckling player....who i think wd be flying to SL. Unmukt and Fazal have shone too. Surprised to see Kuldeep and Piyush not featuring in the matches. Nathu Singh failed to capitalise but Dhawal has put his hat in the medium fast bowling ring. Parvez shd have played the last match.

  • karthik on January 29, 2016, 15:13 GMT

    suyoga,Even shardul thakur is good.Suryakumar yadav has shown what he can do.There have been a lot of positives that you have been unable to see

  • karthik on January 29, 2016, 15:12 GMT

    suyoga,nathu Singh is a good bowler.And don't say that Iyer and agarwal aren't good on the basis of 3-4 games.Look at games early in the season.Also faiz fazal and kedar Jadhav have performed well.So you can't say rayudu is the best player

  • karthik on January 29, 2016, 15:10 GMT

    naresh28 ,Iyer hasn't been failing.Its just in this tournament that he hasn't converted his starts

  • saravanan on January 29, 2016, 15:00 GMT

    Future Stars: Unmukt Agarwal Iyer Aparajith Sanju (wkt) Sarfaraz Axar/kuldeep Sandeep Sran thakur Avesh

  • No featured comments at the moment.