East Zone v West Zone, Duleep Trophy, 1st day January 27, 2012

Yadav's ton reduces East Zone advantage

ESPNcricinfo staff

West Zone 299 for 7 (Suryakumar Yadav 134, Pujara 55, Abu Nechim 3-56) v East Zone

Suryakumar Yadav rescued West Zone from a top-order collapse with a brisk century, but East Zone still held the edge on the first day of the Duleep Trophy quarter-final in Valsad.

East Zone's bowlers had first use of the pitch after Natraj Behera won the toss and they made early inroads. Ashok Dinda struck first, bowling Harshad Khadiwale in the fifth over, and Basant Mohanty dismissed the other opener, Kaustabh Pawar, reducing West Zone to 20 for 2. The runs were hard to come by as well and the early run-rate was below two an over. Abu Nechim then struck two blows in quick time, leaving West Zone in trouble at 41 for 4.

Cheteshwar Pujara, the captain, and Yadav steadied the innings and their 153-run stand for the fifth wicket gave West Zone a solid platform to build from. East Zone, however, dismissed both set batsmen within a short time of each other. Pujara made 55 off 107 deliveries before he became Abu Nechim's third wicket. Shahbaz Nadeen then had Yadav caught behind for 134 off only 137 balls, with 23 fours and a six.

West Zone were stumbling again at 233 for 6, when Rohit Motwani and Akshay Darekar added 66 for the seventh wicket. Motwani did not survive until stumps though, and West Zone ended on 299 for 7.

Comments have now been closed for this article

  • world on January 28, 2012, 7:16 GMT

    sure surya kumar yadav will make to indian team soon his technique seems really good

  • ASHISH on January 28, 2012, 5:01 GMT

    good to see pujara back in action and yadav 21 year young good all rounder and bowler like dinda and abu nachim good testing him pujara is backup of rahul dravid .....

  • Dummy4 on January 27, 2012, 18:30 GMT

    it is so disappointing to see indian domestic cricket go unnoticed. people here in india were able to watch other countries domestic matches but not their own team's domestic tournaments. i know more foreign players names than indian domestic players names . please somebody request BCCI to take this matter seriously.

  • Dummy4 on January 27, 2012, 17:42 GMT

    Pujara should be in the team and in Australia

  • biju on January 27, 2012, 16:39 GMT

    He need to come in one day team. He can score fast and he is handy medium fast bowler too.

  • Aby on January 27, 2012, 16:36 GMT

    Suryakumar Yadav is excellent this season... Scoring lot of 50+ in ranji trophy and continuing the form here... So far scored 9 50+ scores from 14 innings... I watched him playing for Mumbai Indians in Champions Trophy semis and finals and played two very good short innings there... If he can continue his good form, he will definitely get a place in indian team considering india is looking for fresh blood..

  • sam on January 27, 2012, 15:53 GMT

    And Sourav was telling Dinda is the best pacer in the country!! Abu Nechim is the only other promising pacer apart from Umesh Yadav. But he is from Assam. Will he get a chance. He is miles better than Vinay Kumar and Mithun.

  • Dummy4 on January 27, 2012, 13:36 GMT

    I hope they select Abu Nechim for the next series...

  • No featured comments at the moment.