East Zone v West Zone, Duleep Trophy quarter-final, 3rd day January 29, 2012

East in control after Majumdar ton

ESPNcricinfo staff

West Zone 314 and 131 for 5 (Nechim 3-31) lead East Zone 343 (Behera 130, Majumdar 102*, Fallah 3-53) by 102 runs

Anustup Majumdar made an unbeaten hundred to give East Zone the first-innings lead and the visitors then claimed five wickets in West Zone's second innings to take control of their Duleep Trophy quarter-final in Valsad. East had begun on 183 for 4 in pursuit of West's 314 and soon lost the wicket of Shreevats Goswami to Samad Fallah. Natraj Behera and Majumdar steadied East with a partnership of 54 before Behera was bowled for 130 by Sandip Maniar. Though Shahbaz Nadeem departed quickly, Basant Mohanty hung around for 57 deliveries as Majumdar took East past 314. West got rid of the tail eventually to end the innings on 343. Majumdar finished on 102 off 147 deliveries.

West lost Harshad Khadiwale to Mohanty before Rohit Motwani and Ambati Rayudu helped them recover to 55 for 1. Mohanty struck again to have Rayudu caught behind and Abu Nechim grabbed three more to leave West tottering at 111 for 5. Nechim bowled Cheteshwar Pujara for 2 and then removed Motwani. Suryakumar Yadav, who had made 134 in the first innings, stroked his way to 34 off 30 deliveries before Nechim had him caught by Ishank Jaggi. Kaustubh Pawar and Abhishek Nayar were the last pair of specialist batsmen at the crease for West. The winner of this game will go through to meet North Zone in the semi-final.