West Zone v East Zone, Duleep Trophy quarter-final, 4th day

East make semis with five-wicket win

ESPNcricinfo staff

January 30, 2012

Comments: 5 | Text size: A | A

East Zone 343 (Behera 130, Majumdar 102*) and 173 for 5 (Darekar 5-87) beat West Zone 314 (Yadav 134) and 201 (Nayar 58, Nechim 3-31) by five wickets

East Zone held their nerve in the chase to beat West Zone by five wickets in Valsad. This is only the third time West have lost to East in the Duleep Trophy. West had already conceded the first-innings lead and had begun the final day with only five wickets remaining in the second innings. Mumbai's Abhishek Nayar and Kaustubh Pawar were their last hope of saving the game but when Pawar went caught behind to Ashok Dinda on 37, West's lower order crumbled. They lost five wickets for 21 runs to be bowled out for 201, Nayar being the last man to be dismissed for 58. Dinda and Abu Nechim ended with three strikes each for East.

The visitors made a strong start to the chase of 173 with Dheeraj Jadhav and Manish Vardhan putting on 52 upfront. However, Maharashtra's Akshay Darekar, who bowled 23 of the 56.3 overs in East's second innings, kept striking from one end to leave them in some trouble at 121 for 5 at one stage. Biplab Samantray and Anustup Majumdar, who had helped East take the first-innings lead with an unbeaten century, ensured there were no further worries for their side as they knocked off the remaining 52 runs. Darekar finished with 5 for 87.

East will now take on North Zone in the second semi-final in Delhi from February 7 while Central Zone will meet South Zone in the first in Chennai.

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Posted by   on (January 31, 2012, 17:50 GMT)

SA Yadav is a promising talent i think.

Posted by ZIMMYZIMMY on (January 31, 2012, 9:59 GMT)


Posted by   on (January 31, 2012, 9:15 GMT)

Come on dinda the highest wicket taker in ranji this year frm elite league and can bowl 140+kph what the hell the selectors r luking for more thn tht ?? When a paedestrian like vinay kumar got banged all our waca by warner still he us int20 and odis oh god those aussie pitches suit dinda and yadav more thn vinay.whr is varun aaron ?? Forgotten by the. Selectors ?? Abu nechim,dinda,yadav and aaron and ishant all can bowl 140+ consistently and all are below 25 come on selectors groom these guys these are the real fast bowlers not vinay and irfan who are 27+ wht will india get by grooming them ??

Posted by   on (January 30, 2012, 15:58 GMT)

congrats east zone.. finally we could beat the west

Posted by indian_fight on (January 30, 2012, 14:27 GMT)

dinda should be picked.Why the selectors pick binay kumar ahead of dinda?binay showed his class in perth test!!!

Comments have now been closed for this article

Email Feedback Print
Related Links
Players/Officials: Akshay Darekar
Series/Tournaments: Duleep Trophy | Indian Domestic Season
Teams: India
Tournament Results
Central Zone v East Zone at Indore - Feb 12-14, 2012
East Zone won by an innings and 20 runs
Central Zone v South Zone at Chennai - Feb 4-7, 2012
Match drawn (Central Zone won on 1st innings)
East Zone v North Zone at Delhi - Feb 4-7, 2012
Match drawn (East Zone won on 1st innings)
East Zone v West Zone at Valsad - Jan 27-30, 2012
East Zone won by 5 wickets
More results »
News | Features Last 3 days
News | Features Last 3 days