South Zone v West Zone, Duleep Trophy, Chennai, 3rd day October 5, 2013

Malolan, Abhinav rattle West Zone

ESPNcricinfo staff

West Zone 156 for 6 (Bawne 62*, Waghmode 57, Malolan 3-50) trail South Zone 600 for 9 dec (Pandey 213, Aparajith 212, Dhurv 3-183) by 444 runs

Offspinner Malolan Rangarajan and Abhinav Mukund picked up five wickets between them to put South Zone firmly on top in their Duleep Trophy quarter-final clash against West Zone in Chennai.

Double centuries from B Aparajith and Manish Pandey on Friday had propelled South Zone to a mammoth 553 for 7 at stumps, and Malolan added to the flurry of runs on day three with a 132-ball 58 that included four fours, as the hosts eventually declared on 600 for 9.

West Zone began their innings slowly, as the openers Wasim Jaffer and Aditya Waghmode added just 32 in the first 18 overs, before Malolan made the breakthrough, dismissing Jaffer for 11. West Zone stabilised with an 82-run second-wicket stand between Waghmode and Ankit Bawne, but three wickets in seven balls helped South Zone seize the advantage.

First, Abhinav dismissed Waghmode for a patient 57 of the second ball of the 55th over, and in his next delivery, he bowled Manpreet Juneja for a golden duck. Yusuf Pathan went in at No.5 to salvage a recovery, but was caught by Rohan Prem off left-arm spinner Aushik Srinivas in the next over, leaving West Zone precariously placed at 115 for 4.

Bawne carried on, making an unbeaten 62 with six fours, but West Zone were dealt two more late blows, as Malolan trapped both Hiken Shah and Rohit Motwani for lbw in the 74th over to finish the day with 3 for 50, and give South Zone the edge heading into the final day.

Comments have now been closed for this article

  • Dummy4 on October 5, 2013, 23:28 GMT

    The primary benefit of a domestic tournament like the Duleep Trophy is to test your 2nd line against some of your best. Currently - the best AND 2nd line are both otherwise occupied (CLT & WI A-series). A calendar requirement has been met by conducting the Duleep Trophy, but what does it mean ? With Gambhir, Sehwag, Kohli, Pujara, Rahane, R Sharma, Dhoni, Raina, Yuvaraj, Ishant, Zaheer, Yadav, Jadeja, Vinay, Bhajji, Ojha, Sachin, Dravid....... all missing, bowlers / batsmen playing the Duleep Trophy are not even tested by India's best. Results here cannot be used to move Duleep Trophy successes to the next level. The tournament is effectively a waste of time.

  • Deva on October 5, 2013, 15:49 GMT

    Mukund is good option for tests. He may replace m.vijay. Manish pandey good opener for odi's. Aparajith is great talent he will have grt future.

  • Vivek on October 5, 2013, 13:52 GMT

    9 bowlers tried...!except wk and reddy all others bowled..gud captaincy by vinay by giving more overs to spinners..

  • sam on October 5, 2013, 13:11 GMT

    Great cricketing lesson for MC Juneja after batting brilliantly against really good spinners and fast bowlers from West Indies (Miguel Cummins, Nikita Miller,V Permaul) and NZ(Mark Gillespie and co.) getting a first ball duck of Abhinav Mukund's bowling (who is even more of a part-timer than Rohit Sharma).

  • No featured comments at the moment.